Interested in a Plant Based Diet? Learn How One Chef Ended Up Vegan

--

Today I am talking with Mieke, the talented chef behind the Instagram page, The Tofu Diaries.

  • Please introduce yourself!

Hello! My name is Mieke. I am an actuary and recently graduated from Mathematics at Queens University in Ottawa, Canada. I have always loved animals, and have a dog and 3 little rats. I am very into exercise and nutrition. I run, lift weights, play soccer and rugby.

  • How did you first become interested in a plant based diet?

I have been a huge animal lover my entire life. I went pescatarian when I was around 12 years old, then eventually fully vegetarian and just a few years ago vegan. The reason I originally went vegetarian was because I didn’t like the treatment of animals in factory farms. I had seen trucks full of pigs all squished together and they looked exhausted and uncomfortable. I did some research on it and after that I started to just feel not good about it. I couldn’t tell the difference between the burger I was eating and my pet dog. I felt I was being a hypocrite by saying I love animals and contributing to their suffering. Also, the effects of producing meat on the environment. I grew up in a very environmentally conscious family, my dad is the head of sustainability at a well-known engineering company and so I always grew up with the environment in mind.

  • As an animal lover myself, I can definitely relate to feeling like a hypocrite! Has your approach to cooking changed since becoming plant based?

Before going vegan, I had a really unhealthy relationship with food. I didn’t cook hardly at all. I was terrified of carbs. For years I was living off canned soup and salad, and trying to eat as little as possible so I could be thin and then binge eating afterward. After going vegan, I had to make all of my own food and my own sauces. At first I found it really difficult and annoying, but now cooking is something I really enjoy and look forward to. Since then I’ve tried so many different foods and learned so much about nutrition. My approach changes as time goes on but I really enjoy looking up new recipes and trying to ‘veganize’ old ones. Having to make all your own foods from scratch really forces you to know what you’re eating and actually put effort into cooking.

  • During your journey, what has stood out as the biggest benefit of eating this way?

At first I felt bloated after going vegan for a few weeks but this is because your body isn’t used to so much fiber. After this passed I felt so much better. My skin was clearer, I had more energy. Everyone thinks it with be hard to make gains at the gym but it was the opposite for me. My legs got extremely muscular. I was breaking all my running records. I felt great.

Also, learning about different foods, nutrition, and feeling good physically and mentally. I am happy knowing my diet isn't hurting anything, is not contributing to climate change, and is preventing heart disease, cancer and many more long-term health issues at the same time.

  • So on the flip side of that, what has been the biggest struggle?

My biggest struggle is eating out. It can be really frustrating when you’re so hungry and the restaurant has nothing you can eat. Although it is becoming easier with time, more and more vegan restaurants and options are becoming available. Also there are apps like ‘Happy Cow’ which you can look on to easily find places with options.

  • Out of all of your recipes, which is your favorite?

This is a tough one. I would have to say my Thai lemongrass soup or Buddha bowl. Although the one I have probably made the most is tofu scramble.

  • Coming from a math background, what motivated you to change gears a bit and start your instagram page, @thetofudiairiess?

I had a lot of people asking me “what do you eat?” and “what do you use instead of eggs?” and all sorts for questions about how to eat more plant based. So I thought I would make the instagram as a place to store all the food I actually eat. I only make posts of foods I have made multiple times and actually enjoy.

  • If you could give one piece of advice to those looking to transition to a plant based diet, what would it be?

I would say it's a process. Once in awhile I slip up and have a piece of something not vegan and no one is perfect. I would say to keep at it and do research about it, read studies, and watch documentaries, because it really is good for you and the planet. I would also say to remember your ‘why’. Remember why you chose to be vegan and hold on to that. When you’re mad you can’t have something non-plant based remember that you can but you are choosing not to.

  • Any final thoughts to share?

I would say to anyone thinking about eating more plant based to give it a try. All of my friends who have gone plant based have told me they feel so much better. Lots of people say they could never do it, and they’d miss cheese or bacon too much, and at first you do, but after a little while you stop craving it. They always think that I “miss” bacon, and “miss” when I could eat every item at a restaurant and it’s not true anymore. I feel bad about all the days I wasn’t plant based and I like that now I can look all animals in the eye and know I did nothing to support their suffering.

  • Thank you for participating in this interview! You are doing a great job out there spreading the deliciousness of plant based food!

If Mieke’s story speaks to you, be sure to check out @thetofudiariess on Instagram for some great plant based cooking inspiration!

About this blog: Shannyn is a certified health coach and nurse who works with, and advocates for, those with chronic pain and restless leg syndrome. You can follow her on Facebook or Instagram for daily health and wellness tips.

Disclaimer: I am not a medical doctor. I am not licensed to diagnose any physical, mental, or emotional issue. Any information produced is for informational purposes only. Any suggestions or recommendations from me, enacted by you, are at your own risk.

--

--

S. McCauley, Certified Health Coach

Certified health coach. Nurse. Advocate. Learn how we can work together to improve your health: http://beempowered.us