Enzo learns: Part 12, Conquering Promises

Lorenzo Dante
2 min readJan 21, 2018

--

After wrestling with the concept of Promises for the past week, finally I have been able to understand it. After all, Rome wasn’t built in a day 🏟! 😂

I had difficulties in sleeping last night. I was reading an article on dev.to (linked below) that talked about promises. I knew I solved the problem in my head, that’s why I can’t sleep! I almost whipped out my laptop and start coding but I thought better to continue it early morning the next day.

And so, I did it! Before 6:30am, I merged my feature branch to my dev branch. 😌✨ Yassss!

I’ve got to give credit to the two blogs that helped me wrap around my head with this concept:

Javascript Promises for Dummies

All about Promises and async / await

Aside from this, I have now been converted to a let & const believer too. 😅 and fat arrow functions are still foggy for me for now.

I also understood the destructor operator in this session. Pretty handy operator! 🚀

I have merged ny refactor branch to my develop branch and I’ll be learning tests for the next session. 😇 Using postman everytime is so tedious! I’ve now realized the importance of TDD.

Ah, and also, I need to learn the purpose of `git rebase`. Speaking of git, I mistyped a commit with lowercase letters and it’s triggering me! 😠

Nonetheless, I’m really happy of overcoming this hurdle. Or have I?

If you are reading this, that’s all for this time. Thank you for reading my post, and see you on the next one! 😄

--

--

Lorenzo Dante

Reese’s peanut butter cup-fueled coding monster who dwells in the web. Also devours books, video games, anime, and manga. I write about everything!