The political post I’ve been avoiding writing

John Ohno
Extra Newsfeed
Published in
4 min readSep 29, 2016

--

This is a post about the current election. I didn’t want to write it, for several reasons. One is that none of my insights are my own, and I expected to see lots of other people making them. Another is that I don’t particularly like making or seeing political posts — even political posts that I generally agree with make me irrationally angry, because they stir up all that stressful tribal instinct. The third reason is that posting about american elections doesn’t and can’t really shed any light on my genuine political positions, because I’ve never seen a political system that really lent itself to the way I feel about politics. However, because somehow nobody is making the arguments that seem obvious to me, I’m going to have to make them, with the caveat that readers probably shouldn’t take this as an indication of my alignment outside the particular and very unusual circumstances that constitute this election.

My position is that, no matter your opinions on any political issues, Clinton is more likely to be a better candidate than Trump in terms of implementing them. No matter where you fall on the various political spectra, you have a better shot with Clinton. If you’re a marxist, or a neocon, or a neonazi, or a randian libertarian, or you really want the united states to become a zoroastrian theocracy, you’re better off voting for Clinton.

Here’s the thing. Trump isn’t very good at *doing* things. No matter what he tries to do, he’s pretty likely to fail; not only that, but he’s unlikely to be able to…

--

--

John Ohno
Extra Newsfeed

Resident hypertext crank. Author of Big and Small Computing: Trajectories for the Future of Software. http://www.lord-enki.net