Learning to write

Phil Ensminger
2 min readJan 11, 2018

--

In addition to writing so that I can learn more about myself and my experiences, I view this knowledge sharing project as an opportunity to practice the fundamental skills of writing and publishing to the web.

I am not a great writer.

I want to be a great writer.

“Every outcome is a point along the spectrum of repetition” — James Clear

Of course, it’s hard to hold myself accountable to any standard of skill without some kind of benchmark, so, in the coming weeks, I’m going to put together a simple rubric of what “good writing” means to me.

Rules for the format and style of this project will evolve. (I’m trying not to apply too much structure to it quite yet.) But, here’s a short list of starting principles:

  • No complaining
  • Write how you talk
  • Limit your points
  • Illustrations are nice
  • Keep it short

I intend to review my posts occasionally, as I learn more about myself and the topics I write about. (Brad gave me permission to do this)

For me, learning to write is not a destination, but a direction. I want to create a habit vehicle and creative environment that forces me to think, communicate and share ideas.

I need to put in the reps. As Mr. James Clear relates, in the beginning, quantity is necessary to produce quality.

In short, I’m learning to write by (ahem) writing.

What will I be writing about? That, my friends, is coming soon.

Future me

--

--