Sending Invoices with PayPal Invoicing from Zapier

Ramesh D
4 min readDec 1, 2019

--

This article goes through the experience of sending invoices, leveraging the entegrations.io app on Zapier

As a Zapier user, I love the rich set of integrations possible by tons of apps on this platform. This allows me to automate much of my business tasks. There is an app from entegrations.io for Zapier, and it allows sending invoices to customers by leveraging the PayPal Invoicing feature, all from Zapier without any hassles. The app is invite only, not public yet. Here is the link: Zapier entegrations.io app. As of writing of this article, any Zapier user can use it by just utilizing the link.

Using the link above, I logged into my Zapier account and started building my zap. The first step is to connect a trigger; in my case, it’s Airtable that has my data for which I want to send invoices. The Airtable app on Zapier already supports an API that Zapier can use to pull the data when it is used as a trigger. I went to my Account section on Airtable, to get my API key required in this step. See the image below, where this API key is required to be input on Zapier:

From this step, when I click “Continue”, I could see the sample records that could be retrieved from the Airtable API. After reviewing that the data is in the format I’m looking to integrate here in this Zap, I moved out to next step.

This step is to setup the entegrations.io app for PayPal Invoicing and Payouts. First, I went to https://portal.entegrations.io/portal/index.html and signed-up for the service. Then, I got my API key from https://portal.entegrations.io/portal/account once the service is activated on there. I kept this API key handy to use in following steps.

As entegrations.io app is only invite based, I had to search for it from “Choose App & Event” section, by typing some phrase like “entegrations.io”. Then, I proceeded with the steps as shown below and chose “Create Invoice”.

I entered the API key which was obtained from entegrations.io as per instructions above.

Then I proceeded with configuring the required fields for sending the invoice. As you can see, it shows all the important fields for invoice. All the fields marked “required” are needed to be filled out. Along with required fields, for any optional fields for which data is available, one can fill it in based on the need. One important thing to note here is that the “Sender email address” should correspond to the PayPal account’s email address from which one would expect the invoice is sent out.

The “Line Items” field feature in Zapier is very handy that allows a dynamic set of invoice line items. In my case, the Airtable trigger already supports it. I mapped the Airtable fields to PayPal Invoicing app fields as given below:

Next, I enabled the zap and started seeing the action — that when Airtable has matching records it triggers my Zap, which, in turn makes the PayPal Invoicing action on entegrations.io app; the API behind the entegrations.io creates a PayPal Invoice and so my customer would get a notification that there is a new invoice from me.

Note that in my case the triggering Zap is Airtable App that drives the data to create the invoice; but, in theory and practice, any other trigger that provides similar, invoice-related information to the Zap can be used. Other triggers that could be used are Google Sheets or Salesforce database, similar to the Airtable App.

When you have a similar need, hope this article would help you through the integration in a breeze.

--

--