SIMEON TAOLE EMBRACES THE SELF THAT IS NOT HIM

John Michaels
5 min readSep 19, 2017

--

Simeon Taole understand that the way to keep your abilities sharp and widen your opportunities is to do the unexpected. He was working primarily in comedic acting roles when his agent called and stated that she submitted him for a dramatic role based on a Nora Roberts novel, it seemed that fate was urging him to flip his approach. The audition went so well that he was quickly cast as Razz Johnson in the film “High Noon.” Produced by Mandalay Television for Lifetime Movie Network, the film aired internationally and resulted in accolades across the globe for Simeon’s intense and compelling performance. While his roles in prior Canadian productions earned him awards such as “Best Performer” during a theatre run of “The Space Between” at the Atlantic Fringe Festival 2016 and a win for (as a member of) “Best Ensemble” award from NOW Magazine Toronto, his work in “High Noon” saw him receiving praise from far off locations such as South Africa and others. This change of course to drama has shone a light on the actor who has proven himself capable of levity or great gravitas.

In the film “High Noon”, Taole’s character takes four hostages in an attempt to bring the police’s attention to a gang member (named Clip) who shot Johnson’s older brother. Razz demands that the police bring the shooter to him in exchange for the hostages. In the end, Lieutenant Phoebe McNamara displays her negotiating skills by drawing Johnson out of the diner, with his mother’s assistance. Razz provides an opportunity for the audience to see the main character ( Dr. McNamara) explore and maneuver as a negotiator in the scene. Her efforts are successful in de-escalating the situation as she convinces Razz that Clip is already in custody and will pay for his crime in prison. Sadly, as Razz exits the diner, a rogue sniper shoots him.

It’s the nature of an actor’s job to “inhabit the skin” and lives of others who are very different from themselves. Simeon admits that such an intense individual as Razz is a challenge to connect with. A young man who has lost his sibling in tragic circumstances, who has placed his own life and the lives of others in jeopardy because there seems to be no justice…it’s not a space that many of us (thankfully) experience. A character such as Razz requires an extreme emotional and mental intensity, one which Taole confirms is best left on set. The actor has a very calculated system for shedding a character. He explains, “I generally try not to bring my character home with me after a day of filming. Sometimes there is some residue in terms of my mood and that’s more just an easing in and easing out of the character. It usually doesn’t last too long. I would not consider myself a method actor; for example, Razz did not live with my family during the period of filming, but I believe I inhabited Razz’s emotional state for many hours a day during filming. As a result, this can feel tiresome and it is very important for me to have a pre-filming and post-filming structure to my day that includes wind-down time. This is simply quiet time that is a way for me to recalibrate myself allow me to transition out of the role (or in at the beginning of the day) then restore my equilibrium. I would still be able to go out with friends and family provided I protect the quiet time I need for myself to restore myself and prepare for the next day.”

Violence is so prevalent in film, TV, and video games these days that the desensitization is obvious to all. “High Noon” does an exceptional job in personalizing violence and the effect it has on ourselves and those whom we love most. The death of Razz’s brother at Clip’s hands has created a ripple effect that touches many members of the community. Viewers of the film have a much more applicable real world POV than is commonly portrayed in productions in terms of violence and death. Filming the movie was particularly surreal for Simeon as he sees his own death on screen. He admits that the scene had greater impact on his own mother (understandably) than himself but was still difficult to watch. In the heart-wrenching climax of the story, Razz is shot by a sniper. This necessitated some stunt work on Taole’s part. Loaded with squibs (the air powered devices that create the illusion of a gunshot impact), the discomfort of the miniature explosions and the recoil of his body (a necessary part of the scene) were very minor when measured against seeing his own life being taken in the film. In a revealing look inside an actor’s mind Simeon describes, “It is a bit surreal to see footage of yourself being shot, as you can imagine. The only way I can describe it would be to say that somehow your brain manages to distance yourself emotionally. It helps greatly that when I saw myself on screen I didn’t really think I was seeing myself as I am but more the character of Razz that I was playing. It’s still surreal because I recognize that it’s me and yet at the same time it’s not me. I didn’t want to see Razz shot anymore than I would want to be shot myself and, I am him in essence, so it’s all a little bizarre. As an actor, I know I’m working in service of a larger story and so I surrender to that. I once came across a website online that had an archive of on-screen deaths and I saw myself as the character Razz on that archive. I’ll admit that was truly morbid and uncomfortable, more so than seeing myself on the monitor. I think this was because it was a still image and not footage; it really just looked like me. We actors sometimes have very weird experiences in pursuing this passion of ours.”

“High Noon” was a ratings success for the Lifetime Movie Network and just as much, a personal success for actor Simeon Taole. Through the experience he learned that taking the risk of pursuing more dramatically intense roles opened the eyes of many casting agents and filmmakers to the span of his abilities. Beyond even this, Taole states that his already substantial respect for stunt actors was increased with this glimpse into the demands of their vocation. Whether in the real world or that of the stories we watch, sharing the perspective of others makes for a better life and a better performance.

--

--