E. C. Hannah
2 min readOct 14, 2022

RAPHA

I used to love prayer
Whispered words to my Father
I used to love the Word
That bound me to God with a strong cord.
I used to love to gather
With like-minded brethren in a shelter
I used to love tongues
Flowing in a language like liquid songs

But then, my body became plagued
And didn’t get better no matter how much I prayed.
But then, someone’s evil desires took over
And my mental state pulled over
How can I be a Christian
And be bound in sickness' chain?
As a vessel fit for God’s use,
How can I be a victim of abuse?

So, I allowed dislike fester
I turned my back on my Divine Father
I tuned the world out of my numerous issues
And allowed the darkness forge darker hues.
Miserable was a word too light
To properly describe my saddened plight
Stunted and dead were far too feeble
To describe a soul so deplorable.

Still, His love reached out
In my state of denial,
My Saviour sought me out
And brought me to Heaven's aisle.

Are you struggling with depression?
Are you a victim of abuse?
Really, Christ is an all-round solution
He can make you fit for His use.
Are you weak in soul and body?
Has illness your being tossed afar?
There's healing at the cross for everybody
Yes, our God is Jehovah Rapha!

©E. C. Hannah

#christian #poetry #christianpoetry #poet #poem #christianpoets #christianpoems #poetrylovers #poetrycommunity #Jesusislord #poetrychallenge #poetryweek2022 #day6