Universal Design

Ella Payne
1 min readDec 1, 2023

--

Universal design is important because we need to be inclusive to disabilities. Universal design is important to me personally because I have a cousin who is deaf. My cousin was born deaf to a hearing family but it made my families life a little bit harder because they were faced with the decision on whether to get her cochlear implants or not. It was challenging but they decided to not get her cochlear implants. Today our family has learned sign language to help communicate with her.

Picture of my cousin, Bridget.

Because of this personal connection to the deaf community, I want to make products that the deaf and blind community can use. In order to have a universal design it must be accessible to many different communities that are at a disadvantage. Universal design is important because it is important for apps and websites to be accessible to everyone and not be restricting or exclusive for people who have disadvantages.

--

--