Reading for Writing

Elaine Xiao
3 min readAug 16, 2023

--

Before I start today’s article, I’d like to give a shoutout to Conrad for being proactive and taking on Project WRIT=E. I’m thrilled for him as he begins this transformative period in his writing journey. Show him some love!

Recently, I’ve been motivated to pick up a book that’s been sitting on my bookshelf for half a year: Disorientation by Elaine Hsieh Chou (her first name did galvanize me into buying the book, but it was definitely not the sole motivating factor).

It’s riveting. I haven’t been able to put it down for two days. I am quite literally consuming the book — or should I say, it’s consuming me?

Chou plants me in the shoes of twenty-nine-year-old Taiwanese-American Ingrid Yang, a poetically inclined, analytical, and socially awkward PhD student studying East Asian Studies, a woman so I love and hate at the same time. She’s desperate to finish her dissertation on a Chinese-American poet, which, so far, has taken years and helped Ingrid develop both a fast-food and an antacid addiction. But, while working gruelingly to complete it, she uncovers a sickening secret, one that will upend her life and the lives of those around her.

The book is thought-provoking, effortlessly hilarious, and resonates with a lot of my personal experiences. It’s also a satire, a thriller, and a slice of life? It’s a mix of a lot, but it’s everything I wanted and more. Also, I must mention that the cover is so gorgeous and aesthetically satisfying.

I’m not even done the book, but I would highly recommend it.

Something I’ve noticed is that all of my friends who are avid readers are also spectacular writers. This makes sense: reading expands your vocabulary and helps you subconsciously absorb the syntax and style of well-established authors. Reading is like the primer for the paint, and it is an essential piece in the pursuit of becoming a better writer.

For this particular reason, I’m being more intentional about trying to read throughout my day. And if you’re also trying to improve your writing, you should try reading more too.

Not only should you read good writing, but also, bad writing. Why? Because then we begin to understand what doesn’t work, and we actively look out for those pitfalls in our own writing.

Therefore, anything you read, no matter the quality, would be illuminative for your writing experience; reading any and all pieces of writing is good. So what are you waiting for?! A book to spontaneously spawn in your hands? Go read!

If you haven’t already, consider joining me for a two-week writing journey. I’ve challenged myself to write every day for two weeks (ending on August 16), with a maximum of three days off, to improve my craft. This is Project WRIT=E (writing, reform, iteration + tenacity = excellence).

If you do decide to be proactive and take on WRIT=E, let me know how it’s going through the comments (doesn’t matter if you’re starting it way after I’ve published this article), or even create your own article. :)

This is WRIT=E, Day 10.

Join me as I WRIT=E. Let’s all become better writers in order to better ourselves — and the world.

--

--

Elaine Xiao

Hi! I'm a high school junior who likes to write comedic ponderings, advocate for social issues, and discuss like a lot of stuff. Let's create!