Creativity vs Rationality

In Which Do I Relate To The World?

Eric Casiano
3 min readDec 3, 2021
Posted by Vic on Tutor Storm, 2020: https://www.tutorstorm.com/logical-vs-creative-thinking/

I’m a Gemini. To be frank, I don’t understand what this means about me, or if it adds any true factoring into my personality or existence, but I’m aware that it means something about duplicity or, at the very least, a double-sidedness in the soul. This is why the image of the Gemini is of the Twins. There are apparently two sides to me and sometimes these mirror images come into conflict with each other.

In fact, the other day, as I was pondering on the state of my character, I discovered a conflict in me I didn’t see before.

First, I have a Creative side, the one that speaks in poetry and stories and paintings in the mind. This is the side that wishes to express himself through a subjective experience, all the while pointing at something universal, but it can only be subtle about it. At times, we can find the most profound sense or understanding of a situation of life through a mere sentence, or we read a prose and know that it’s a feeling belonging to the heart of every person that ever loved, or we can see virtue played out by the actress in a way no written argument could ever explain.

Secondly, I have the Rational side. This is the intellectual, scientific, skeptical, and most stubborn of the two sides, because I’ve relied on it more to lead me through life. I…

--

--

Eric Casiano

Philosopher/Novelist/Freelance Writer, I seek out all that might be meaningful. I write on people, literature, and ideas. Come say hello!