Why I Stopped Watching the News

Beware news media fear tactics

Eric Sangerma
Wholistique

--

“Your body adapts to what you eat. Your mind adapts to what you consume. Your soul adapts to what you love. What you feed yourself today is who you become tomorrow.” — James Clear

I’ve recently started watching the evening news again, after a few years of avoiding the habit.

My wife and I got drawn back into the world of TV news during the early spread of the coronavirus in China. My wife is Chinese, and we wanted to see how the media world in the west would report about the situation.

While it was easy enough to maintain perspective in the beginning, anxiety crept up on us slowly but surely. We started feeling constant low-level dread, paranoia even…

After a few days of being exposed to images of people wearing face masks in China, I decided to order a few hundreds of surgical masks and even two respirators. I was starting to prep for an eventual pandemic, and I couldn’t stop thinking about how it would affect my loved ones.

Watching the evening news right after the weather forecast became a new habit in our family. This had an undeniable impact on our thoughts.

--

--

Eric Sangerma
Wholistique

I Help Companies Excel and Individuals Thrive. I write about Mental Health, Relationships and Productivity. Follow me: https://www.linkedin.com/in/ericsangerma/