$100 Cash Prize Writing Contest

Erica L Soerensen
Admiring Multipotentiality
4 min readJun 20, 2024

All Medium Premium Members (any paid membership) are welcome to join as I launch my new publication with gusto!

Photo by Kostiantyn Li on Unsplash

Who loves a friendly competition?

There’s nothing quite like the adrenaline rush. Your heart pounds fiercely in anticipation. You get excited about the possibility of winning. You can see it in your mind’s eye. Hope abounds!

I am here to offer a fabulous opportunity to earn money on top of your earnings here on Medium.

Yes, it is a writing contest.

Will you be the winner?

If you don’t submit, you can’t win. So, give it your best shot!

So, here we go! Let’s have a writing contest!

Photo by Nick Morrison on Unsplash

The Categories and Earning Potential

There will be three categories: FOM, Fiction, and Nonfiction. You may only submit your story to one of them. However, you may submit as many entries as you wish, but they must be a new story (within the last 24 hours).

I dedicated a special prize to FOM members only. This is due to my love of FOM memberships. I want to encourage all premium members to join the publication while honoring those of us who contribute a little extra to the Medium pot. These individuals want to support Medium and its members, so they get an additional chance!

  • Fiction: Any story written from a fictional perspective. All genres will be accepted. Trust me when I say I have no preference. I am as eclectic as they come! A multipotentialite to the core here! The winner will earn $30.
  • Nonfiction: Any story or article from a nonfiction perspective. This can be a personal or newsworthy story. I am looking for a read that grabs my attention from beginning to end. Be wary of overly informative pieces that don’t have your perspective. They will feel like work to me. Writing tips, Results, and Success Stories are welcome here! The winner will earn $30.
  • FOM: Any from the above categories. The winner will earn $40.

Writing Contest Rules

Please be sure to read through everything carefully.

  1. First, join Admiring Multipotentiality. Be sure to read through the post so you know what is expected. Trust me. It isn’t difficult!
  2. While my publication will not have limits on word count, the writing contest does. It must be no more than 1,200 words. If it is over, it will not be included. Poetry will be allowed on the publication, however, for the contest, I will not include it. This is due to the difficulties I have choosing between a short story and a poem.
  3. The header/title must end with one of the three entries: FOM, Fiction, or Nonfiction. For example:
Screenshot by Author

4. One topic must include the publication. The other four are up to you! See below for example:

Screenshot from Author

How Winners Will Be Chosen

I will be reading through these amazing stories, therefore, I will be the primary decision-maker. However, as an English professor, I make every effort to ensure my scoring is as objective as possible. So, for each category, I will narrow it down to four. Then, all writers in our publication will get to read and vote. I want to be as fair as possible, PLUS this gives these stories/articles more reads! Woot Woot!!

Author created with Bitmoji

Deadline and Winners Announced

  • The contest will run from June 20th through July 31, 2024.
  • The top four for each category will be announced on August 5, 2024.
  • The survey will open immediately after the announcement on August 5th. It will run for 72 hours.
  • Winners will be announced on August 9, 2024.
  • All winners will be contacted by the end of the day on August 9, 2024. I can make payments via PayPal, Venmo, or Zelle.

Please share this with as many Medium friends as possible. I want to be inundated with submissions. I love reading and am thrilled to offer this opportunity to Medium members. Let’s give this new publication a rocket launch!

--

--

Erica L Soerensen
Admiring Multipotentiality

Editor & Creator of Admiring Multipotentiality💗Editor of CREATIVETECH Friends/Leaders💗Writer, Reader, Supporter, Educator, Mother, Fiancé, & Positive Force!🌞