CS373 Fall 2021: Week 6

Erica Xu
2 min readOct 4, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

I worked on phase 1 of the project, specifically implementing a navbar for the front-end, obtaining a domain name from NameCheap, and writing the technical report.
What’s in your way?

I’m unfamiliar with a lot of the tools needed, mainly React, as well as AWS, Bootstrap, and Postman so there is a big learning curve to get over.

What will you do next week?

I will proceed to work on Phase 2, and watch more tutorials over the topics and resources required to implement it. My laptop is also running out of storage so I’m worried that I won’t be able to install the needed scripts :’(
If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #6: Single Responsibility Principle?

It was very informative, and something definitely needed to consider when designing your code. In the past I had a tendency to combine multiple responsibilities that would overcomplicate a class or method and cause a lot of errors and headaches during debugging. It did a good job of explaining how to be concise while keeping the logic thorough.

What was your experience of factorial, reduce, and operators? (this question will vary, week to week)

I’ve only used factorials in homework exercises. I learned something new (reduce), but I prefer using iterative functions with loops since it’s easier for me to comprehend. It was interesting to learn about the differences between Python operators and Java/C operators.
What made you happy this week?

I was a little worried that we wouldn’t be able to complete phase 1 on time since it seemed like a lot of work in the beginning while I was reading the documentation and grading requirements but I’m glad we were able to stay on schedule and finish on time without having to cram and stress on the weekend.
What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

I found this link helpful when I adding CSS to the navbar. I’m not quite familiar with React Bootstrap or front-end frameworks so I just relied on this cheatsheet for now.

--

--