In Came Some Rain. A Summer-y Salad Dressing. The Food Prep Continues.

Montis Boeher
3 min readJun 24, 2024

--

It was blue skies until noon. After that the clouds and wind rushed in.

And then the rain followed.

I’m not complaining. With the recent heat an hour of good rain was welcome. I opened all the widows and let the cool air blow in. An added benefit was I didn’t have to water the garden today.

I kept dinner simple with a salad and frozen pizza. But I was reminded earlier that on Post.News we spent last summer going to town on summer salad dressings. So I did a new one tonight. Well, an old one that I changed up a little.

This is my honey mustard vinaigrette. I did a tablespoon of both Dijon and honey, a heavy teaspoon of balsamic adding a 2 finger pinch of both salt and white sugar. That went into the food processor and I emulsified it all with avocado oil but any neutral flavored oil would do.

With the exception of the black olives and cheese everything in the salad came from the Danville farmers’ market.

As I’m sure you can imagine, the vinaigrette went really well with some bacon bits.

I made my honey and raw sugar sweet tea for Tuesday. Almost 2 gallons worth. I chilled the tea in the fridge and put them into insulated pitchers.

And now I’m makin’ biscuits for some sandwiches. I’m making enough for 2 dozen sandwiches, which is probably overly optimistic but I’d rather have them than not. And I love biscuits so they’ll get eaten eventually.

As I’m ending the day clouds are creeping back in. I may get hit with one more shower.

2 more days until the food cart opens.

Bring it.

--

--

Montis Boeher

I cook. I build. I garden. I draw things. I write things. I like things. I read things. Have things. Things you like. Things are good. Make things.