My Last Visit as a Civilian. A Garden Pest. The Menu. 7 Days.

Montis Boeher
3 min readJun 19, 2024

--

One more week…

Well dang it! Some critters got into the garden and killed all of my fresh dill.

You little bastard.

I took a trip to the Farmer’s Market for the last time as a customer. Not much going on as it’s a good bit hotter outside than expected.

Once the smell of garlic and onions are in the air I’ll start pulling people in alright. And some ice cold sweet tea.

I got this little succulent for my mother next time I make her dinner. It’s a cool little feller. Only 5 bucks but that’s 5 dollars invested. I want the lady selling them to recognize me next week.

The flowers in the Episcopalian church gardens are going pretty hard this year.

My own safflowers are about to pop. I can not wait for these to bloom.

I can’t remember the exact name of these. Gladi-sumthin’. But it’s getting ready as well. These are near my front wildflower garden.

No real cooking today. I had to finish up work for the week and I’ve got a lot to do tonight.

Finished typing up the menu. Tomorrow I’ll paper the dang town with them. It will be two sided printout with just the logo on front.

I’ll add in the prices tomorrow. I’m just going to go through the numbers one more time. Remember last time I crunched my numbers and found I was 125.00 dollars short?

Here’s something exhilarating I’m doing tonight. I’m writing the checklist for everything I need to have on the cart. Napkins, cups, towels, sanitizer etc. All the little things I will need to show up with that if I forget I’m boned.

7 days. What a ride it’s been. It took me almost exactly one year to pull this off. I’m so far into this at this point (both money and work) that I’ll push the damn cart by hand to be there next Tuesday.

I shall not be stopped.

7 friggin’ days!

--

--

Montis Boeher

I cook. I build. I garden. I draw things. I write things. I like things. I read things. Have things. Things you like. Things are good. Make things.