The Glamourous Side of Food Service. A Chilled Garbanzo Salad. Getting That Oozing Cheese.

Montis Boeher
3 min readJun 18, 2024

--

Humid and hot outside. I did as much work as I could indoors today. Which meant connecting all the wiring for the e-bike motor. While about as fun as you would expect it was much easier than I thought it would be. All of the fittings pair up with a unique shape so matching it all up went smoothly.

Another glamourous job to do today. Cutting my parchment paper ahead to save myself a few seconds during service time.

I stopped at around 50 sheets. I would call that an extremely optimistic amount of parchment.

With the heat being what it is I knew I wanted a chilled salad with dinner. I cooked down onions and garlic with fresh beans from the garden. After a few minutes I added drained garbanzo beans. They’ll release some water into the pan at first but don’t let it worry you, it will burn off fairly quickly over medium heat.

Once the water cooks off I took it off the heat and added mayo, mustard, sour cream (it would be better with Greek yogurt but I don’t have any right now) tomatoes, salt, pepper, cumin, and ground cloves. For acids I used lemon juice and a little apple cider vinegar. I threw that in the fridge for about an hour and a half.

Ah, what the heck, let’s have a grilled cheese with it. Grated gouda mixed with Irish cheddar, a little avocado oil and a pinch of salt. mix that up with a spoon. We’re making a spicy cheese sandwich.

Look, you know how to make a grilled cheese sandwich. I know that. I’ll just say that while a little more of a hassle the shredded cheese sandwich reigns supreme. And use butter bread whenever possible.

The chilled salad served over spinach.

I hit the salad with a little dried thyme, peeper and dill.

See that cheese ooze? That’s why you add the drizzle of oil to the cheese. The oil will heat faster than the cheese and helps to get a totally even melt.

As evening came to be I hung out outside for a little bit. The tomatoes are flowering.

And of course, the cucumbers.

That’s a lot of damn food to sell.

--

--

Montis Boeher

I cook. I build. I garden. I draw things. I write things. I like things. I read things. Have things. Things you like. Things are good. Make things.