The Heat Wave Hits Virginia. A Quick Risotto. Cart’s Pretty Much Done Now.

Montis Boeher
4 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Lord, it’s hot out. I walked up to the car show today but it’s just too much of a scorcher and not many people showed up.

From the Danville farmers’ market. Peas and beans, I almost made a veggie risotto tonight.

Almost.

Everything cut ahead of time. Once risotto starts, you can’t stop to cut. You just have to stand and stir.

Lemon is squeezed and broth is getting hot on the back burner. Everything’s in arms reach.

I put the arborio rice in with the butter and onions just to toast a little. After a few minutes it’s time to add the broth. This is about a cup of rice so I would need 3–4 cups of hot broth to finish the rice. I started adding the hot broth about 1/2 cup at a time. Once the rice has almost absorbed all of the broth add another 1/2 cup and repeat. This ensures an even cook.

Here’s the thing about arborio, As you taste test it will be crunchy for a long time.

Test.

Still crunchy.

Test.

Still crunchy.

Test.

Still crunchy

Test

OH MY GOD TAKE ME OFF THE HEAT NOW!!!! I’M DONE!!!!!

When it happens, it happens fast and only leaves you a minute before it’s over cooked.

A few things about the vegetables. You’ll want to establish a cooking order. The beans should go first, after a few minutes you can add the peas and the tomatoes can go in during the last minute or two so they don’t cook down to nothingness.

Ooops! I tripped and put bacon on top.

Every risotto deserves some crusty bread.

On the cart side of things I got the gate partially finished. It was so damn hot I could only work for about 10 minutes at at time. I went through a gallon of sweet tea today. I’ll finish it up tomorrow. I have flashing to cover those wood planks. It’s the very last thing to do besides the prep work.

Now I sit back to work and put every damn fan I have in this house in front of my face.

I think I mentioned before, it’s really dang hot today.

--

--

Montis Boeher

I cook. I build. I garden. I draw things. I write things. I like things. I read things. Have things. Things you like. Things are good. Make things.