30 Days With no Alcohol, Day 7: Temptations

Some thoughts and observations a week into the sober life.

Eric Bowman
3 min readJan 8, 2024
Photo of the Author

This is my 2nd entry in my ongoing 30 days with no alcohol challenge for myself. If you want to know more about my journey and intentions with this challenge from day 1 check out my first article here.

Day 7 is feeling a lot different than I did on the first day — some parts for better and some for worse. So let’s get into it.

Early Challenges

The whole week was pretty smooth sailing for me. I had low to minimal urges. This was expected because before I started the challenge I was rarely drinking during the week anyway. The weekends tell a different story.

Last night the temptations started creeping in.

I had a Bumble date last night. It wasn’t great, I’ll just leave it at that. The disappointment from the date plus the habit of drinking on Saturdays sparked a big craving for a drink. I didn’t cave but I did try to find some NA beer unsuccessfully.

After that little stint was over, I decided on a hot shower and Dave Chapelle’s Netflix special to end the night. It was a great choice.

Those 2 things helped me get my mind off the temptation to have a drink that resembled the taste of…

--

--

Eric Bowman

Artist/Writer/Creative Mind. Exploring the way we think. Diving into how we can live in the best way possible with the cards we've been dealt