“landscape photography of mountains” by Shot by Cerqueira on Unsplash

Why Writers Need To Move

The Daily Grind #61

These days it’s not out of the ordinary for me that most of my contacts are writers. Some of them a bit younger than me, some of them older than me, and a lot of us talk about bouncing ideas off of one another.

I enjoy the writing community that I’m involved in.

However one thing I notice that we don’t talk a lot about is our desire to move. I mean sure people talk about travel plans and they might be awesome. But I’m talking about seriously moving somewhere and staying there for two, three, or more years.

I get it though, people have commitments like family and friends. I know it all too well. Our family didn’t travel much because either my brother or I whined that we wouldn’t be able to see our friends ever again.

You know that feeling?

But I personally think it’s bullshit. Over the past several years I’ve lived at home again I have yet to hang out with my old friends outside of that one time I invited one of them to hang out.

Writers And People Must Move

Travelling is all fine and dandy. You get to explore a new place and it’s incredibly therapeutic. But travelling only gives us a sliver of what life is like here.

We’re going through the motions, acting as tourists, as opposed to a person who has a sequence of things they have to do. When you move to a place you slowly understand the layout of the city, what sort of diverse culture the town provides, and you’re fully immersed in it.

With travelling it’s not like that. You only learn what you need to and then move on. Sure you may come back, but the knowledge you learn from living in a new place is different than travelling.

It’s for this reason why I think it’s important for not just writers but other people to move. For sure it’s difficult. My father has made a number of connections in this town to the point that he can’t move away from it.

Other people are in the same sort of boat as many others have various commitments or even a business that requires them to be physically there.

Moving is not always so simple.

But I feel it’s necessary in order for us to grow as writers or entrepreneurs and more so as people.

I’m Planning A Move

Of course I’m not saying all of this and not moving myself. I do know a few people who are working hard to move away from their country as well. It’s inspiring and meaningful to me.

Which is the main reason why I want to push myself to move as well.

I’ve already created a summary of expenses that I’d incur from month to month. As it stands, I’m not quite at that level where I can move, but it still gives me something to work towards.

I’m making this as real for me as I can. So as I can motivate myself further to achieve that.

Now you may be wondering where it is I plan to move?

After doing a little digging I found that Brasilia (capital of Brazil) would be an interesting place. It’s cheaper to live than if I choose to live here in Fredericton New Brunswick, but I still have a lot of research to do.

Travelling vast distances on my own is an entirely new experience to me. Especially international. This is all good though seeing as I still have to earn enough money to cover living abroad.

However the thrill and experience moving provides is something that we should all take advantage of. It provides a clear goal for where you want to go. It also forces you to expand your mindset as you have to learn lingo and perhaps another language.

To your growth!

Eric S Burdon

Other posts that you might like.

Call to action

--

--

Eric S Burdon

Entrepreneur, positive-minded. I used to say a lot, but now I do a lot.