Introducing Shelby

Eric Peterson
2 min readApr 21, 2023

--

So while I was writing Jarvis I realized that there was an awful lot more I could be doing with OpenAI than just a better job of running my house. I wanted to explore data integration and how I could feed OpenAI a wider range of data sources and see what it could do.

It turns out it can do a lot.

I will finish describing Jarvis, I promise, but I wanted to start to share Shelby, the AI I have built to help manage the car collection my wife and I use to help some very deserving kids in the Pacific Northwest. Long story short, during the pandemic I build an entire system to track expenses, market values, and activities for these cars, and now I have hooked that data and more to OpenAI.

One of the cars in the Dream Drives for Kids fleet that Shelby helps to maintain

I’ll share more, but I was delighted today to realize that if I add “respond like a drunken pirate” or “reply as if you were a proper British gentlewoman from the 1800s” to my prompts … OpenAI does a pretty good job of it.

Have a look:

It’s silly, I know, but you have to admit it’s also pretty bad-ass. I am using the Google Voice API for text-to-speech and it’s really pretty good, especially if you’re not trying to be clever.

Of course when I run Shelby through Apple’s Siri the cool voices go away … but the functionality is all still there.

More on that soon.

--

--

Eric Peterson

Old man in the Digital Analytics industry; young man in car collection and philanthropy; aged code nerd, amateur photographer, AI enthusiast.