Thankful For That Food Shelf Life

All this time, I thought my son merely tolerated chunky peanut butter

Erika Diegel Martin
9 min readFeb 20, 2023
Photo by author: Skippy Super Chunk peanut butter, my son’s favorite, apparently.

I had to go into Publix the other day to do some grocery shopping and I had picked up my son on my way there. I told him he could either stay in the car or come inside with me. Zach is 24 years old, and he’s autistic and has schizophrenia. He’s totally fine staying in the car by himself. In fact, he walks all over town by himself and holds a job at the local McDonald’s. He said he wanted to get some snacks for himself, so I told him to come in with me so he could get what he wanted, rather than me playing a guessing game of what he was in the mood for.

He picked out his favorite Doritos (the sweet spicy child flavor), a cold Pepsi, another kind of Doritos, and some Reese’s peanut butter cups. It had to be the King size because that has 4 cups in it and not two, like the regular packs.

As we made our way down to the end of the store, we came to the last aisle, which had peanut butter. He asked if he could get some peanut butter and I told him that I had just picked some up the day before. He pointed to the Skippy Super Chunk and asked if he could buy it. I explained that it had chunks in it. He said, “You mean chunks of real peanuts and not fake ones?”

--

--

Erika Diegel Martin

I write short essays about my life and memories. I'm a self-taught artist, entrepreneur, autism mom, partner, and nonfiction writer living on the GA coast.