The Benefits of Meditation for Runners

Erin K. Geyer
4 min readMar 4, 2016

--

My favorite trail in the world, found in Parque Nacional Conguillio, in Chile.

NPR did a radio news story a while ago that really boggled my mind. They gave several runners audio recorders and had them record themselves while they were doing their runs. They played a bunch of sound bytes from the recordings: “Ugh. One more mile.” “Am I done yet?” “Oh, man, this is hard.” “I’m so tired.” Comment after comment from the runners demonstrated how the majority of them, even though they were dedicated runners and used to working hard like this, were not enjoying their runs but were actually spending a lot of time complaining to themselves about how hard it was and how bad it felt. This is what boggled my mind. NPR was trying to share the “common experience” that most runners have but what these people were experiencing was completely different from mine. I started to wonder why.

Why don’t I have thoughts about the drudgery and the pain while I’m running?

I work just as hard, push myself just as far and feel just as much physical exhaustion as the average runner, but thoughts like that don’t pop up. I realized that the difference between them and me is that I don’t let my mind control the conversation. I’ve trained not just my muscles and the rest of my body for the endurance and strength, but over the past several years, I’ve trained my mind to be clearer, to have thoughts about what I want and what feels good versus what hurts and what I don’t like. I’ve trained my mind to be more patient. Being more patient means that I don’t react instantly to every stimulus and I can be more steady and peaceful even when something uncomfortable is being experienced.

How did I train my brain to behave this way? I meditate.

Meditation is very simple. It is a practice, just like a running practice or a strength training practice. It teaches you to be in control of your mind.

An untrained mind runs wild with thoughts bouncing around and popping up constantly without you doing anything to direct them. Negative experiences of the past and fears about the future play on a loop.

A trained mind puts you in control of what goes on up in that head of yours.

Today I was running a beautiful trail in the hills near where I live in Marin County, California. The path was a windy one, with a lot of climbing and a lot of steep downhill toward the end. The last mile was flat and I wanted to push myself to go as fast as I could. I could feel my body getting very tired.

It was right then that I made the connection between the meditation practice that I have been following and the experience of that moment of running. I knew that I would easily make that last mile even though my body was physically exhausted, because doing that mile was exactly like meditating, just with my eyes open and my body moving. I was focusing on my breathing and on the repetitive motion of my arms and legs. I was keeping my mind clear of thoughts, especially of thoughts of how hard it was or how I didn’t like that my body was hurting and tired. I was paying attention to how it felt, observing the pain, observing the feeling of my lungs breathing heavily, but there was no judgement. I wasn’t describing the feelings or complaining about them to myself.

That’s exactly how it works in meditation. You train yourself to be aware of what is happening and what you’re feeling, but you don’t judge any of it, you don’t label it, you just observe and remain steady, breathing through it, accepting it without reacting or trying to change anything.

Even though I’ve been practicing meditation, off and on, for the past several years, it was only today that I realized how incredibly important and powerful this mental strength I have developed is for enhancing my running.

If you’re a runner, and you haven’t tried a simple meditation practice, what are you waiting for? It could mean easier, more peaceful and enjoyable runs. I believe that if you’re not at peace while doing all that hard work, you’re missing out on the best part.

Like this article? Recommend it by clicking the heart below, so more people will see it. Thank you!

Erin Geyer is a trail runner, web and app developer, photographer and world explorer who is always evolving. She’s also the Creative Director/Director of Technology/Professional Wino at Bliss Wine Imports: http://blisswineimports.com

--

--

Erin K. Geyer

Erin Geyer is a web developer, designer, & photographer whose passion for discovering & sharing the world's beauty motivates her to keep her eyes wide open.