New to the Hashimoto’s Club? Here are 4 Tips to Help You Manage

Erin Nielsen
8 min readSep 22, 2022
Photo by Dmytro Buianskyi from iStock Photo

Many of us have a knee-jerk reaction to jump onto WebMD or Google our symptoms when we can’t quite explain what is going on with our bodies. It can be a little laughable when we see the range of explanations that could be anything from dehydration to cancer and everything in between.

However, have you ever just felt “off”? Maybe you can’t figure out why you’re tired or feeling colder than usual or even getting a little sad more often.

That’s how my diagnosis of hypothyroidism came about. I honestly just couldn’t pinpoint why I didn’t feel like myself. As the months went on, I found myself getting fatigued from doing normal every day tasks. My friends would make fun of me for getting cold so often (I used to be the one who complained about heat all the time).

I found myself feeling depressed, achy and struggling to lose weight. I was constantly forgetting things at work and felt like I couldn’t focus. I attributed the brain fog to possibly getting older, but at only 30 years old, that seemed a little too early to me to be struggling with my memory and concentration so bad.

The idea that I was maybe just too stressed out crossed my mind. I had dealt with mental and physical side effects of stress before, but again, this was different.

I said something to my mom about my ordeal over the phone one day and she said, “you kinda sound like your aunt. Maybe it’s your thyroid? Go get it checked out!”

Wow, am I so glad she said something.

I set an appointment with my doctor and described what I was feeling. Ultimately, the best way I could describe myself was how I said it earlier: I just felt off. And it was getting worse as the months and years passed.

After running some blood tests, my doctor applauded me for following my mother’s intuition. I had hypothyroidism. Unfortunately, even after going on medication, my symptoms continued to worsen.

Time and my doctor revealed that my symptoms were the result of Hashimoto’s disease.

The diagnosis was a relief in a way. The unknown adversary I felt like I had been fighting had a name now. But of course that was just the beginning.

I haven’t been battling Hashimoto’s as long as some other courageous women and men out there, but let me share 4tips that have really helped me cope with my diagnosis.

1. Don’t let your diagnosis define you.

At the beginning, I was really discouraged to learn that I would essentially have to live with this autoimmune disorder for the rest of my life. I would also likely have to take medication forever too. I felt overwhelmed and focused on how awful I felt.

“Why do I have to feel like this?!?” I would scream inside my head. It seemed like I was always going to feel crappy and exhausted.

As soon as I changed my mentality, my symptoms became more manageable. Yes, I still had plenty of days of feeling tired, in pain, and depressed, but I had made up my mind to live the best I could despite my condition. As I learned more about Hashimoto’s and heard stories of others that struggled with it, I learned that some people had it way harder than me!

I could do this! My stubborn side came out and I decided that while I had to pay attention to my health and how I was feeling, there was no way in heck that I would let this annoying disease define me.

2. Find a Community

As mentioned before, I started seeking out other stories of women that had struggled with Hashimoto’s and hypothyroidism. I was grasping at any kind of support, even virtual, that I could find.

At the beginning of my diagnosis, I found myself spending some evenings listening to women recount their experiences on YouTube. Although I didn’t know them personally, it was comforting to know that I wasn’t alone in feeling this way. They echoed what my doctor had said that it wasn’t just all in my head.

However, I believe my biggest lifesaver was having my aunt close by. She had struggled with Hashimoto’s for decades, but didn’t get it diagnosed until she was almost in her 50's. Her symptoms are more severe than mine and she ultimately had to have surgery. She said that while my diagnosis is not fun, at least I know what it is at this point in my life so I can better learn to cope with my symptoms.

She has given me encouragement to get through my struggles and shared some possible trials I would have ahead. I was warned that I would still have some bad days even while taking medication and managing my symptoms as best I can.

I cannot express how much this has helped me to have someone like her to talk to.

You may not have someone as close to you like I have with my aunt, but there are more people around you than you know that can relate to you. Find those people. Also, be open with your family members and friends about your diagnosis. They won’t understand everything you’re going through, but they need to understand that what you feel is real.

You don’t have to share anything or everything with your coworkers, but I did mention something to my supervisor that I was dealing with some health challenges and he was very understanding on the days where I needed a little extra time getting out the door in the mornings.

Recently, I had a friend (who was unaware of my diagnosis) approach me and tell me that she was frustrated after just being diagnosed with hypothyroidism. I opened up to her about my own diagnosis of Hashimoto’s, and she was so grateful to have a friend who knew what she was going through.

Be that friend to someone else if you get the chance. I find just as much relief talking to her as she does with me.

3. Take Care of Yourself

This point is so much easier said than done, especially if you have people in your life who need a little more TLC (children, aging parents, etc.). The idea of self-care brings about images of spa days or chilling in a hammock with a book. However, self-care is more than that. It’s not just “spoiling yourself” as many often think.

It’s taking care of YOU, which is everything from eating healthy to exercising to signing up for therapy. Maybe that even means saying “no” to an outing with friends if you’re too fatigued to get dressed. That’s ok! Just make sure not to isolate yourself too much from those that can support you.

I’ve had times where I had to cut a workout short because I was to exhausted to continue. The first few times that happened, I felt guilty for not finishing my last one or two circuits of weights or HIIT. After a while, I did not feel bad at all. I thought, at least I moved today, and that was a victory for me!

We already know that stress makes everything worse, but keep in mind that it might have more of an impact on your day when you’ve got your thyroid to think about. Take time to read that book in your hammock or watch an episode of the newest show you’re into. Be aware of what you’re saying “yes” and “no” to and you may find what stress-related items trigger your flare-ups.

There’s not a ton of research out there about best diet practices for those with thyroid issues, but consult with a physician or dietician about trying something out. I know people who have benefitted from the AIP diet (Autoimmune Protocol), going gluten-free, or limiting sugar intake even more than usual. This is your one mind and body, so be open to new approaches that can improve your way of life. Food is some of the best medicine out there.

Speaking from personal experience, figuring out your lifestyle can be overwhelming, so make sure to take it easy on yourself as you navigate this additional chapter to your life.

4. Find a Physician You Can Rely On

After my second round of lab tests, my doctor put me on medication and didn’t run my labs again for over a year! As someone who has worked in several healthcare clinics for many years, this didn’t seem normal to me. The providers I worked for generally had patients come in every 3–6 months so they could make sure their patients’ lifestyle choices and medication doses were working.

My pharmacy keep sending his office refill requests for my levothyroxine, and I keep expecting to get a phone call saying it was denied and that I needed to come in for an appointment to re-evaluate. That call never came and the meds kept flowing.

My symptoms began on a downward spiral and there were some days where I thought I was going to collapse. I called my doctor’s office and asked if they were sure they didn’t want to run labs again, especially since my symptoms had significantly worsened. They agreed it had been far too long and they needed to be checked.

Long story short, that’s when my doctor discovered I had Hashimoto’s and he said he would need to keep a closer eye on me. After a discussion about my future care, I left the office feeling a lot more confident that my doctor was going to take care of me.

But if you took anything from that story, it’s that it took me a while to get to that stage with my doctor. Don’t take as long as I did.

It’s ok if you feel like you need to jump around doctors at first to find one you click with. There’s no one doctor out there that will have a miracle cure for you. The important thing is to establish a good relationship so they can help you investigate your new diagnosis.

If there’s any final piece of advice I can leave with you, it would for you to know that it’s not all just in your head. You’re not alone in this diagnosis and time will help you figure out how to manage your symptoms.

Do your research about your diagnosis, but also don’t overwhelm yourself with the amount of information out there. Don’t lose your mind over whether or not you can eat broccoli or dairy. Don’t panic if you don’t notice a difference in your symptoms after only being on medication for a week.

Give yourself time. Give yourself space.

This diagnosis doesn’t mean your life is over. You will have to make a few changes in your day, but you can still live your life to the fullest.

--

--

Erin Nielsen

Freelance writer and former journalist specializing in healthcare, wellness, travel and lifestyle.