Progress In Failure

Ernest Anyewe Adonu
2 min readAug 6, 2022

--

From failure to success -Martin Meadows

Failure is simply the opportunity to begin again, this time more intelligently. Henry Ford.

I don’t know who else needs to read or listen to this, but the truth is that I have written this article to remind myself. I don’t want to go searching when I want to remind myself of the progress I have made when I failed.

Rather than being so hard on yourself because you failed and deciding to quit because you think you are not good enough, think about the progress and the discoveries you wouldn’t have made if you did nothing. Imagine how many times children fall before they get to walk. A good friend said you failed means you started, and that is very good.

Albert Einstein said that “Failure is success in progress”.

From where I come from, failure is an abomination. If you fail, for instance, in class as a student, your teachers will give you less attention and your colleagues will give you space because no one likes to be associated with failure. So, it is either you get it right or you don’t try once you perceive failure. There are lots of ideas that have not been implemented because of the fear of failure, songs that have not been written for this same reason, and many more. I believe you get a new perspective on failure and encourage anyone who tries because of all the inventions and technologies we have tried many times before succeeding. Just to mention a few

According to this article, Elon Musk’s idea of a reusable rocket failed with all the brilliant brains behind it before finally succeeding. I am sure you might have heard of the invention of the light bulb or seen one. The person behind it, Thomas Edison, failed 10,000 times before the invention of the light bulb.

Every learning process starts with failure. Failure is a gate that we all must go through, whether once or multiple times, in order to enter the tower of knowledge and talent. It is impossible to gain knowledge or acquire new skills without failing. I hope this reminds us of what we have achieved and to press on when we find ourselves failing. Thank you for reading.

If you like this article and more of these, kindly follow and click the bell to get a notification anytime I post a new article.

--

--

Ernest Anyewe Adonu

Interest: Psychology, Growth mindset, Ruby, Rails, JavaScript, Automation