Groove Is In My Heart

Ernio Hernandez
P.S. I Love You
Published in
6 min readFeb 10, 2018

--

single-line drawing by Jessica Jungton

Medieval Times seems like a funny place to have an epiphany, but ’tis what ’tis.

It was either 7th or 8th grade when our school made the field trip to the then-new “dinner & tournament” castle, years before it was made famous by “The Cable Guy” scene where Janeane Garofalo utters “There were no utensils in medieval times, hence there are no utensils at Medieval Times.

After the dinner and show, our group made its way out of the arena and through the gift shop. We had some time before our bus arrived, so some scoured the swords and shields trinkets and such. Others were lured towards the bar where, for some reason, there was a DJ playing music. Taking our lead from the girls in our gang, we took to the dance floor.

At this point in my life, I had not given much thought to dancing. Sure, when I was younger my older sister and I choreographed routines to pop songs. And yes, as I grew a little older, cardboard was laid out in our living room for when I would perform breakdancing moves for my family. But I don’t know, that was pretty normal for me.

So we’re all dancing and a song came on that excited many in our group. I had a crush on a girl who was the best friend of “the hottest girl in our school.” Both were there that night and on the dance floor. At some point during the beginning of the song, my crush’s best friend made her…

--

--