Men Who Shaped Me (…in Shapes)

Ernio Hernandez
The Coffeelicious
Published in
4 min readAug 16, 2018

--

My #nationalselfieday contribution & the start of new twist on a developing style.

Last summer I began working on a style that involved using simple geometric shapes to “paint a picture.”

The experimentation began with self-portraiture and was applied over the summer months to: well-known artworks, landmarks, animals, Sesame Street characters, New York City scenes, space-scapes and back to portraiture.

All artwork by Ernio Hernandez. ©2017

Playing around with the style again recently, I recalled how my wife preferred the look of the works before they were completed with a digital “smudge.”

All artwork by Ernio Hernandez. ©2017
Mona Lisa (above) & Lady Liberty before & after.

So, I played with simply using the color in the lines to create the fill. The effect worked, but I felt the shapes themselves were lost to the overlapping.

--

--