Infinity Cube

rav1 Errr
3 min readJun 18, 2018

--

Handmade Infinity cube with origami

I start exploring the topic of my project with the mathematical 3D model then, I’ve found the interesting structure that give an idea of “ Reconfigurable Material ”.

After I saw this video. I decided to narrow my topic to be the mathematical 3D model that can change their shape or structure depends on the situation. But this one that shows in the video is complicated to understand so I’ll start with something simple. Some basics 3D geometry model like a “ Cube ”.

Hexahedron (cube) ref : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Platonic_solidI

I’m start searching for some transformable structure that base on cubes. And then I found the popular model calls “ Infinity Cube ”.

Describe of the Cube

The infinity cube made up form 8 single cubes. When you unfold the cube three new surfaces (red, green, blue) then appear. You can see that there are two possible green formats.

The infinity cube usually is a picture cube. The sides don’t have the same color, but they show nine different pictures, six outside and three inside.

Each individual cube has 6 squares. So there are 6 x 8=48 squares, 24 squares are visible outside (while it’s in the normal form with do nothing), 24 are hidden. You can produce three rectangles with 8 squares each by folding.

The position of the eight hinges becomes clear from the following drawings:

Building the Cube

I build the cube by folding. The first thing I did is making the side of cube. I prepared square paper with 8 x 8 cm dimension. Divide it into quarter then folding as follow.

One completed trapezoid is one side of the cube. You can complete a cube by connect 6 pieces of it.

Then I want the connector to be the hing. The dimension of connector is shown by red one in the picture. But I don’t need that precisely length so as I made the cube with 8 x 8 cm paper, I use 6 x 6 cm paper to made the connector.

You can see how to build the infinity cube in reference below.

--

--