My first three days on medium as a Content Writer — what have I learned so far

Erum Khalid
2 min readJun 13, 2022

--

Photo by Vstretimsya Na Rassvete on Unsplash

If you could ask me to describe my initial experience on medium in three words, I would answer “wait, wait and wait.”

“Wait to publish your first story, wait to get your first view, wait to get a follower or two, wait to have an interaction with fellow writers, wait to get your first clap…”

Excuse me to give a shout-out to my only follower at the moment Zack Love — Zack you are amazing.

As an average beginner out there, it becomes so frustrating when your story didn’t bang the way you expected it to be. And the first thought that came afterward is to quit.

Here is a look at the three-days stats of my first medium story.

The sorry state of my first medium story’s three-days stats

Yet, being a beginner comes with odd opportunities and perspectives if you have an eye to see through beyond your initial setback. The lessons that I have learned in the past three days are as follows.

Lesson#1 Mere writing with correct English has become a tale of old times; skills like Search Engine Optimization(SEO), Social media marketing are pre-requisites to flourish in the digital world.

Lesson#2 Incessant checking of stats do you no good but increases your anxiety and frustration.

Lesson#3 People only care about topics that add value to their lives; so, add value to people’s lives.

Lesson#4 Active interaction with fellow writers is the key to building a reliable audience.

Lesson#5 Knowledge of relevant tags and publications is a must-have skill on medium.com to establish yourself as a professional writer in any niche.

Lesson#6 Your already-established social media presence has the potential to make or break your content writing career (invest in your social media interaction if you have not already)

Lesson#7 Being a Freelance Content Writer is a lifestyle; a challenging lifestyle that requires an attitude of constant learning, striving, and improvement.

Lesson#8 Journey to success as a Content Writer is a marathon and not a sprint.

Thus, I am determined to make it through the obstacles that my writing journey has in the offing for me.

If you enjoyed this article then help me in my journey of getting 100 followers ASAP.

Write “tea” in the comment box down below so that I could appreciate you more by knowing you and connecting with you.

Have a nice day!

--

--

Erum Khalid

Content Writer | Open for work | Niches: Writing, Relationships, Parenting, Pets, Technology, whatnot :) https://www.upwork.com/freelancers/~0173a3bc3a1f451617