How to install and run YT-DLP on your Mac

Erik Santana
2 min readSep 1, 2023

YT-DLP helps you download YouTube videos and audio to your Mac.

YT-DLP is a fork of YouTube-DL, a command-line video and audio downloader. I use YT-DLP because YouTube-DL stopped working for me a while back.

This is a quick install guide for my brother-in-law David, who apparently has to set up this application every other day.

Let’s begin.

  1. Download and install Homebrew for Mac. Trust me, this package manager will make your life so much easier. Go to my quick install guide here and come back once you finish.

2. Run the following command and let it finish:

brew install yt-dlp

That’s it.

Now to use YT-DLP:

  1. Get the URL of the video you want to download. It’s better if you grab it from the share button.

2. Then I go to the terminal and change your directory to the Desktop folder (So you know where to find the files):

cd ~/Desktop

Then run the yt-dlp command (remember to add quotes to the address):

--

--