My Top 10 Open Source Mac OS Apps of 2023

Erik Santana
5 min readOct 17, 2023

I think this is a really good list of open-source apps you will enjoy. I made sure not to include any repeats from my previous Top 10 list.

It’s incredible that we live in a time where people give up their free time and effort to create wonderful applications for everyone to use. They should be compensated too, so I will leave links wherever possible if you want to donate to these amazing developers.

Note that for most of these apps, you will get a warning that they have been downloaded from the Internet and some will require you to explicitly allow access by visiting System Settings => Privacy and Security.

You can download applications by clicking on the links, or if you have Homebrew installed, I placed a one-liner for each one.

  1. LibreOffice (Mozilla Public License Version 2.0)
LibreOffice Writer

I don’t usually create Word documents at home so I don’t have MS Office installed on all my machines. Once in a while, I need to print out documents for my son or have him edit something quickly. That’s where LibreOffice shines in my opinion, and all without having to pay a Microsoft 360 license. The donation page is available right after you download the app.

Note: Make sure you disable the “Use Skia for all rendering” option in Preferences => View, as it will have a…

--

--