Making The Comic Book ‘Chiby Loves Naomi’

Agnes Ekanem
3 min readFeb 15, 2023

The Origin Story.

On the 8th of November 2022, Chiby reached out to me with a question, ‘How much do you charge to draw a comic?’ He wanted to do something special for Naomi during the Christmas holiday. For whatever reason, that didn’t work out, but he assured me he’d be back just in time for 2023 Valentine’s day.

First interaction with Chiby about the comics.
Men in love >>>>

As a creative, I knew not to hold my breath when clients promise to get back to me for a job. I pretty much forgot about it until he texted me again on the 24th of January 2023, saying he needs to make a comic book for Naomi. I was excited about the project because it was for love.

The second time Chiby reached out concerning the comic book.

Chiby initially wanted the comic to be about their first date, but he wasn’t sure how to go about it, so I made a couple suggestions on what the comic could be about. We settled on reasons why he loves Naomi.

I got him to send me 10 reasons why, but he was worried about the timeline. ‘Would it be ready in time for valentine’s day?’ he kept asking. At my core, I knew if I had to illustrate the panels myself, coupled with the other projects I already had, it wasn’t feasible. But I really wanted to make this work.

To meet the deadline, I hired an artist whose art style was cute and quirky enough to carry the cheesy love quotes Chiby sent to me. Together, we created a beautiful love story for Chiby and Naomi.

Chiby was expecting us to draw the references straight out, but where’s the story in that? As a cartoonist who writes for comics and animation, I knew it was my responsibility to translate his words into stunning visuals.

I think we did a great job making that happen. Naomi loves it, the internet loves it and Chiby is happy with the work. It’s a win!

Enjoy the Chiby Loves Naomi comic.

Artist: @fyz.canvas

If you enjoyed this and would love to make a comic story for your events, anniversaries, birthdays, e.t.c, kindly send a DM on Instagram @e.s.Doodles

--

--