10 Reasons for moving to Portugal’s Capital- Part I

Sezgi Eser
3 min readDec 10, 2021

--

I will count down my list of 10 Reasons for moving to Portugal’s capital, Lisbon, and show you why the city is so hip amongst the nomads!

Photo by Claudio Schwarz on Unsplash

I am currently writing a copy for my start-up that I founded last year in Lisbon, Portugal. Besides the fact that it has been almost six years that I have been living in the city, I feel like I can step up and write about this and use a strategy raised from my personal experience as blog content for my production house to attract some readers.

So let’s kick off with number 10!

10. Extroverts are Happy Here!

📍The social life in Lisbon remains active throughout the year. Whether you are a digital nomad or an ex-pat, the very first thing you will see is that there is always a reason to socialize in Lisbon. Portuguese people do like hanging out even after work hours and dinner. Taking a quick coffee at your local coffee shop would be a daily routine. It would not be your first choice, but spending time with the next-door neighbour during the evenings is also common in Portugal. Likewise, many outdoor events in the city centre will make you go out eventually. Social life is the key to survival. Extroverts feel extra happy in Lisbon! Time to say goodbye to your couch!

Photo by Svetlana Gumerova on Unsplash

9. Warm Weather During the Whole Season

📍In Portugal, warm weather is allied to the outgoing lifestyle. No wonder why Portugal attracts so many people from the north. The nice weather allows you to travel and mobilize more around the city. Especially during the winter, not minding the weather is something to celebrate. Beach after work? Sure. You can count on this idea in Lisbon. Do you like sunny winter days? Do not worry about missing Christmas without the snow; Santa will visit you anyways!

8. The Crossroad of Digital Nomads

📍Nomad culture has been on the rise! It feels great to work location free while travelling. Specifically, post-covid times has taught us how remote working is essential even though the officials have restricted the airways. Working by the sea or at a cosy coffee place, who would not want this? Lisbon has been a crossroad of the Digital Nomads for several years now. There is almost no time to feel like a stranger in Lisbon, thanks to all Digital Nomads Meetings that keep taking place in the city.

Photo by Ronan Furuta on Unsplash

Thanks for reading now, and I would be delighted to count the upcoming three reasons here as soon as possible. Keep in mind that my personal experience living in Lisbon is highly differentiated. Perhaps, next time I will try to write something about that. See you next time!

--

--