Tasty Tuesday: Church Street Tavern, Colchester & The Sun Inn, Dedham

The North Essex Larder
5 min readMay 1, 2018

--

CST BURGER Rare Breed Beef, CST Sauce, Red Onion, Cheddar, Fries

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be posting interviews with some of our brilliant North Essex independent businesses. I want to provide a greater insight into who the people are behind the scenes, working hard to put this much maligned County on the gastronomic map. I’m hoping to do this weekly if possible, so if there is a Cafe / Pub / Restaurant / Supplier / All round good egg you would like to know more about, let me know and I’ll ask them!

First up is my Colchester fave ‘Church Street Tavern’. When this place opened 2 years after I left Hackney for North Essex, I breathed a sigh of relief. We had moved just off the High Street to the Dutch Quarter and had friends to stay a lot, but annoyingly, and despite being so central, there was nowhere decent to take them for drinks or food. But then Piers Baker, the owner of the award winning Sun Inn, Dedham, set up shop in Church Street, Colchester and my epicurean prayers were answered. Slightly off the beaten track, between the High Street and St Mary’s, it’s set in a gorgeous Georgian building (it used to be a bank I believe), with a relaxing bar and lounge area downstairs and a more formal restaurant upstairs. We have had plenty of nights having drinks either outside or in the cosy bar, but also we’ve had some some great meals upstairs courtesy of his amazing Head Chef, Ewan Naylon.

I think the main selling point for me with Church Street Tavern, is the consistency. In the 5 years since moving to Colchester, I’ve seen alot of new places open up but nowhere has the consistency of CST. From the great staff to the delicious food, you always know the service will be professional and friendly, and the food will be great quality at a fair price. Also, in my opinion, they have the best burger and chips in Town!

Anyway, that’s enough from me, let’s hear from the man himself!

* W​ho are you, what’s your role within your Company?

Owner and Managing Director. I product ‘sign off’ both bar and food, display, interiors and manage quality control. I also look after the Finance side, all the Marketing and Strategy & Ethos.

* Why North Essex?

My wife is from Copford and when we started going out (in London) we used to come up here at weekends but there was nowhere to eat out. I saw an opportunity in the A12 Colchester-Ipswich corridor and found The Sun Inn, an underperforming Greene King site. I celebrate 15 years of ownership at The Sun Inn this July. I opened Church Street Tavern in 2014 after many years of looking for a second site. A lot of our regulars at The Sun Inn said Colchester was in need of somewhere similar to The Sun Inn in terms of food, drink and service. I found 3 Church Street and if felt right to deliver Sun Inn V2 — not trying to replicate but similar principles of excellent food and drinks with a professional, but relaxed service. Ewan the head chef was Sous Chef at The Sun Inn and his team get better and better superbly supported my Matt, Inga and their team out front.

* What was the inspiration for starting your company?​

I want to give people a great time, serving delicious, authentic food and drink while at the same time nurturing and equipping our teams to be the best they can be.

*What is your favourite dish on your own menu and why?

Our menus change each month in line with the seasons and availability of produce. And my tastes change with the weather, day of the week, company etc. But I always have said my desert island dish is Grilled Tuscan Sausages (made by The East London Sausage Company in Walthamstow who bought the fennel & black pepper sausage recipe from a family called Parisi) served with polenta and black cabbage. I’d have a pint of Adnams Broadside with it but halfway though switch to a bottle of the finest Barolo I could afford.

​*Do you have a Local Food Hero? If so, who?

Elaine Smith of Remfresh in Ardlegih. Elaine’s husband started growing baby vegetables (carrots, leeks, fennel and beetroot) in the 70s or 80s and she continues doing it today with her son. We buy her produce through Anglia Produce now but I used to pick it up direct from her. You couldn’t get fresher (out of the ground that morning), and she was always generous with her knowledge and time.

*Who would your 5 dream Dinner Party guests be (dead or alive)

AA Gill, Gerald Asher, Richie Benaud, Uma Thurman, Victoria Baker (my wife!).

*Regarding Environmental Concerns how have you / how do you plan to reduce your packaging / food waste?

All of our waste at both sites is recycled. Very little, if any, of our produce comes in with plastic, most items are packed loose and some wrapped in paper. We got rid of mineral water two years ago to reduce waste and so filter the sparkling water in house. We have looked at keg wine and wine in a box for wines by the glass but haven’t yet found the right quality or dispense system.

*What’s your ‘Food Guilty Pleasure’?

Crunchy peanut butter on toast.

So, there you have it! If you want to find out more about Church Street Tavern or The Sun Inn please check out the websites below.

Finally, a huge thank you to Piers for being the subject of my first ‘interview’, and don’t take my word for how great CST is, pay them a visit yourself!

--

--

The North Essex Larder

🍓A hub to promote the many wonderful Indie Food/Drink Producers & Eateries in North Essex.