is OKEX scamming their users and loosing their transactions?

Esteban Rodriguez
4 min readMay 1, 2019

--

I am no stranger to taking losses whilst trading cryptocurrencies but getting accounts liquidated whilst holding no open positions… now thats a first….

However this is very hard to prove when you go to your account history once your closed transactions have disappeared.

When you reach customer support of course they have no records of the closes but whats interesting is that I had limit closes that never hit, and ended up cancelling them before market closing my position.

Seems like OKEX also doesn’t track positions that were open but never filled and then cancelled since the team also does not hold any of that information.

So what’s your next step… you go to Telegram to try and get a bit more info and see if this issue is happening to other users right? wrong, OKEX will delete your messages of issues and ban your account…

Sorry we don’t take negative feedback or try to help customer queries… best to delete all your messages and ban you

Asking friends to see if the my posts remained, they were all deleted but funnily enough we encounter users which are experiencing similar issues

when asking the telegram admin for info I get the usual silent treatment

as well as the general authoritarian demeanour from the admins threatening to ban users although there have been tweets from OKEx official page stating what this user is commenting on

So I try to compile my case and request my initial chat transcripts from OKEx so I can put my case together but OKEx does not hold any live chat information or refuses to give it to me

PS: the agent closed the chat before me taking any other screenshots and told me to send an email to support asking for any transcripts….

Then the reply from the support email is even less helpful

In order for me to have chat transcripts I must get them before one of the agents closes a conversation or I can never have them again…

I should have set a stop loss right?… Except OKEX does not have stop losses (really??) yes… they don’t have that feature, amazing right… when asking support they reply that you can leave an opposite trigger position that will leave holding both a long and a short paying some nice double funding and double transaction fees in the process, nice solution right?, especially if you market closed your position anyways… oh wait apparently you didn’t.

So bottom line, what can you do before this happens to you…

  1. take a screenshot of EVERY closed transaction in case somehow they happen to disappear
  2. if this happens to you and you have no supporting information like it was my case then support provide well … any support, they wont track any of your activity onsite or be unwilling to share it with you, telegram will most likely block you and you wont have any chat transcripts to post.
  3. you can use those losses for your tax statement or … you can just take your funds of an exchange that has no interest in honestly trying to review your case
  4. is OKEX a scam? I’m not sure if they wilfully are set out “to get you” but if you happened to be on one of their lost transactions pile you certainly wont receive any customer support and you will be most likely either end up in a nice winning/losing position that you did not want or in my case account liquidation.

As for their tagline, the most trusted digital asset exchange… I’ll let you be the judges of that.

--

--