The Most Efficient Way to Index your Obsidian Vault

Esteban Thilliez
The Obsidianist
Published in
5 min readJan 20, 2023

--

I’ve been using Obsidian for a year and a half, and in that time I’ve had some trouble organizing my notes properly.

It’s only recently that I found a method that works for me, so I’m going to share it with you.

The Problem with Obsidian’s Backlinks

There’s a really important feature in Obsidian called “Backlinks”. They allow you to navigate easily through your notes.

But, are they really useful? How many of you navigate in your notes from backlinks, or from the graph view? Backlinks have some use cases, but when you have a lot of notes and you want every single note to be correctly organized and easily findable, backlinks are not the solution.

Maybe for you, it works, but from my experience, it doesn’t. One thing I did was creating a field called “Topics” in each note, where I just referenced backlinks. But it’s not the way, it doesn’t really provide a way to navigate through notes.

What is a Map of Content (MOC)

A MOC is a note containing several references to other notes. You can make MOCs related to topics such as science, tech… but a MOC can also be a note containing a reference to all your daily notes for example.

--

--

Esteban Thilliez
The Obsidianist

I’m Esteban, and I enjoy writing about programming, trading, productivity, knowledge management, books, etc! esteban-thilliez.com / contact@esteban-thilliez.com