How Dr. Google RUINED My Life

How Googling My Symptoms Seriously Wrecked My Life

Emily Steinbach
3 min readSep 16, 2023

--

Photo by Firmbee.com on Unsplash

I’ve always been addicted to the internet; Addiction may actually be an understatement. I’ve spent at least 8 hours escaping my life on here, and half of that time has been dedicated to Google-

Or, I should say, Dr. Google.

Instead of going to the doctor, for the past 5 years, I have been researching my symptoms. I pride myself on being a researcher, but I’d be lying if I said this isn't getting out of hand. Here are the ways Dr. Google wrecked my life.

I Thought I Had Alzheimer’s

My first Google search happened when I was 12. I didn’t have the best memory, and I kept forgetting where I misplaced my things. At the time, I didn’t know I had ADHD, but instead of getting a diagnosis, I googled my symptoms. After typing in symptoms of memory loss and forgetfulness, the first thing that came up was Alzheimer's. That day I went to my mom fully convinced I had Alzheimer's or dementia. She spent at least 10 minutes laughing at me.

I Thought I Was Pregnant (Twice)

After my period was a day late, I thought I was pregnant; twice. Instead of taking a pregnancy test, I rushed to the internet to see what was going on. I had been…

--

--