UX video without UI

Et Crunch
2 min readMay 10, 2024

Everything is temporary

It’s been ten years since I started learning UX animation, yet the past two months have been unusually quiet, with only two simple explainer projects to my name. Relying solely on freelance work for income, these slow periods can be demotivating and, paradoxically, provide ample time for a thoughtful reorganization of my approach.

In December 2023, I received an order from a client who needed to promote their AI solution for healthcare administration but had not yet finalized an interface design. Fortunately, I knew exactly how to handle the task. Using a combination of visual language and an AI voiceover for explanations, I created a sequence relying solely on the company’s brand colors.

Scene from the video

While the creative director insisted on a flat design to stay within the project’s budget, I decided to use the extra time I had to create volumetric scenes with styling. Sometimes it’s beneficial to consider others’ opinions, but often, I find it best to trust my own.

After slightly delaying the deadline, the shipped video received positive feedback and helped refine my style for future projects. I am now working on a second project for this client, who now has a user interface ready.

Previously, I thought the budget would mirror the complexity of the project, but my experience has shown that the market operates unevenly.

I’m currently expanding my skills with web and publishing tools, recognizing the significance of exchanging insights and establishing new relationships.

Listen to world and do what you like

Until next time

--

--