3 Things I Wish I Knew Before Starting My Graphic Design Business

Boy, did I have a lot to learn…

Ethan Himka
4 min readFeb 18, 2023
Image by macrovector on Freepik

I thought I had it all figured out.

Everyone in my graduating class was stressing about where they were going to work.

I kept quiet and tried to empathize. But in my head, I thought “I could care less about a 9–5 with good insurance, paid time off, and retirement benefits. I’m going to make so much money freelancing that I won’t even have to worry about those things.”

See, I had a grand plan…

  • Build up a massive social media following for my design business.
  • Let the inquiries start rolling in.
  • Treat my first clients like kings and get raving testimonials.
  • Gradually increase my prices, and make it my full-time business.

And that I did.

In the spring of 2020, I grew my business Instagram account to 10k followers simply by posting design process videos…

And by September 2020, I was freelancing full-time.

Now, I’m a millionaire and I’ll never have to work a day in my life again.

Kidding about that last part ;)

--

--