The Way Reading Saved Me From Rotting.

My PSA for everyone to start reading.

Ethan Wong
5 min readJun 11, 2024
Photo by Pixabay: https://www.pexels.com/photo/pile-of-books-159866/

When Instagram launched Reels, I saw a direct correlation between my lack of free time and my scrolling through TikTok trends and food reviews.

I could feel it as well; the strained eyes, the numbing feeling that overcame my brain — short-form videos were indeed putting a chokehold on my life.

All of a sudden, the ambitions I had, whether it was my desire to write my novella or simply to leave my room, had all dissipated within the algorithms of my screen.

So, how did I get out of it? It was honestly a gradual shift of lucky opportunities that I had been given.

Chapter One: The Giving

It had been more than four years since I had last picked up a book. The last thing I had read was “The Alchemist” by Paulo Coelho, a book that had moved me to my core and made me realize that authors are just philosophers with a bigger imagination.

Honestly, I’m not sure why I stopped reading after such an impactful book (maybe I thought nothing could top it), but nevertheless, it wasn’t until my creative writing class in college that I dove back into the literary world.

--

--

Ethan Wong

A person that writes sometimes. For any inquiries or if you would like to talk please email me at ethanwarhol3@gmail.com