Redesign Of Cheepy

By Leman Beril Sunay UI/UX Designer, Etrexio

Etrexio
6 min readDec 22, 2022

Each design is a different adventure, a different excitement. What about designing a meditation/relaxation application? Nothing gives people the pleasure of doing something good for them to relax! That’s why I got pretty excited before starting my new project. I can easily say that my whole process continues with the same excitement.

So I want to introduce you to Cheepy!

Cheepy is an application that allows users to mix relaxing sounds and helps them reduce the daily stress of life. The application simply contains different relaxing sounds such as bird sounds, rain sounds, river sounds, and so on. By selecting these sounds, the user can create their mixes or listen to the prepared mixes. If s/he chooses the sounds herself/himself, s/he can adjust the volumes individually and customize them.

I redesigned the application previously designed by Etrexio Digital Solutions and wanted to share my process with you. I start my article by thanking the Etrexio Design Team, who stood by me during the design process.

My design process started with analyzing the problems in the current design. We always say that a design should be as user-friendly as possible.

In the current app, it was difficult for users to change settings such as volume. Also, the dark color scheme made the app a bit far from relaxing. There may be users who like dark-themed applications, and there may be those who do not. In meditation applications with the theme of relaxing the user, such as Cheepy, the user should be given a choice.

In addition, the language of the icons used in the application was different from each other, which was uncomfortable for the eyes. The timer was not very easy to use and could only be set up to 59 minutes. The images selected in different languages for Mixtures cards were disturbing the user.

Based on this research, I decided to make a few changes to the design of the app. After identifying the problems in the current application, I took the next step and listed the features that Cheepy should have. I decided on my pages with the card sorting method.

Then I decided to connect the features with the information architecture method. This was the basis for me to create my user flow so I started preparing my user flow.

And I moved on to my favorite part, the design process. First, I determined my color palette. Instead of the dark tones in the current design, I switched to a light color scheme using baby pink and baby blue to create a clean and calming aesthetic, but I did not forget that I had to give them a choice to appeal to the user as much as possible.

Then I chose my font and went to the wireframe phase. This stage is simply the stage where we determine how the structure of the pages will be. Flow is important, not colors, images, or text. This is the stage that answers questions such as: “Where will the user click and reach? How much space will an element take up on the page? Where will it be?”

After finishing the wireframe phase, I started the final design. First of all, I designed a page that asks the user’s current mode every time s/he enters the application and suggests a mixture to the user according to her/his response. This daily mood feature allows users to customize their relaxation experience according to their current mood. This feature can be accessed later from all pages of the user application. Users can change their mood at any time, so they can try different sound combinations and find the one that suits them best.

My next step was to design the theme selection page. I aimed to allow the user to customize the look and feel of the application according to their personal preferences. The images I present to the user have a color scheme, and when an image is selected, the overall color scheme of the application will change to match the selected photo.

Then I moved on to the design of the mixtures and sounds pages. Since I prepared it in wireframes, the location of my nav bar, timer, mood option and title was already clear. I designed a card for each mixture and placed it on the page. I chose an image for each mixture. The card includes the title, the icons of the sounds it contains and the like button for users to add to favorites. In the previous design, there was no option to add to favorites, but I think this feature is very important for the user to easily access the mixes they like.

On the sounds page, there are sounds grouped by their topics. In the current design, the sounds are mixed. Also we cannot see the name of a sound before it starts playing. The user is expected to understand the icons. In such cases, if the icons used are known, it will not be a problem for the user, but icons are not familiar, we have to tell the user what it is. In order to solve these situations that will create

confusion for the user, I made each icon an element with its own title and grouped them as titles such as nature, animals, walking/vehicles, and others. When the sounds start to be played, the user will have created his own personal mix, so s/he can name this mix and add it to his favorite.

The user will be able to individually adjust the volume of the sounds they play. If s/he wants, s/he will be able to set a timer and determine the duration of meditation. The timer allows users to set a specific duration for their relaxation or meditation session. The timer can be set to any duration, from a few minutes to several hours, depending on the user’s preferences. Once the timer is set, Cheepy will play the selected relaxation sounds until the time is up. This allows users to fully immerse themselves in their relaxation or meditation experience without having to worry about the time.

Overall, with the Cheepy redesign, I aimed to improve the user experience and make the app more enjoyable for users. The new version of Cheepy is now easier to use,

more visually stunning and more effective at helping users relax and help. I’m sure these changes will help the app continue to grow and be successful in the future.

Follow us on Dribble & Behance & Linkedin & Medium for more!

We are available for new projects! Tell us more at design@etrexio.com

--

--

Etrexio

Startup Creation House 🚀We help you grow as an entrepreneur | startups 💡 Useful tips for UXDesigners & Developers