Dying Alone: What’s the alternative?

Reflecting on my conversation with Islean about death

ESr
3 min readFeb 4, 2024
Dying Alone. [Google Bard. Recropped by the author.]

Islean:

I liked your story
Have you been thinking
of death lately
.

I have been too! 😶

ESr:

Still working
on the article.
Right now,
in fact.

What have you
been thinking?

Islean:

Thinking.
What will
my final hours
be like?

Today could be my last.
What If
I were to die tomorrow?

Could I have done more
for my Dad,
grandmother,
your mother
before their death?

My friend Arturo would say,
we can’t take anything
with us,
not even a shoe
(funnier in Spanish).

ESr:

What did you
succeed in doing
while they were
alive?

Islean:

Everything
that was needed of me.
Mostly being fully present.

But not enough

ESr:

ESr:

Not enough
for what?

Islean:

I was not there
when they took
their last breath.

Thinking…
who will be
with me then.

Is it
who I want?
Will I be
all alone?

ESr:

Hubris is thinking
we can control it.

Stupidity is thinking
that who we choose
will be right.

Islean:

We don’t know.
We can’t choose.

ESr:

What can I know?
What can I choose?

ESr’s Commentary

Looks me like
Islean feel guilty
for not being there
for her close ones
when they took
their last breadth.

Islean feel guilty
for not being there
for them.

This to me
is projection.

Islean should feel guilty,
but not for
not being there
for them.

If Islean were smart
about her own nature,
Islean would feel guilty
not being there
for her.

It is for ourselves
that we need to
be with the dying
It is for Islean
that Islean needed to
be with her father,
be with her grandmother,
be with my mother,
when they were dying,
when they died.

Witnessing someone dying
Being with someone dying
Truly unbelievable gift
Anyone bestow another
As far as
Life is concerned
Living is concerned
Living fully concerned.

Takes spiritual adult
Recognize & appreciate
Islean cannot yet
See within Islean
Looky liky me.

What would
Arturo say?

If take cannot
Not our socks
Not even underwear
With us dying
Do not all
Take final journey
On our own
As we entered
On our own?

What Islean fear
Dying alone inevitable
No one can
Die with us!
We die alone
Period.

I will
Die alone
You will
Die alone.

If we be smart
Raise spiritually sighted children
Intuitively recognizing with reverence
Communing with our dying
For themselves & grandchildren
When mommy be dying
When daddy be dying.

Islean fear what
Stairway to heaven
Be my guess
We’ll see
Won’t we?

Dying Alone. [Google Bard. Recropped by the author.]

Related articles

--

--

ESr

For me, purpose of words is to bring us to collective stillness & silence. For this, poetry & music may be more powerful than prose. But dialog can punch!