SLANG

¡Coño!: The All-Purpose Cuban Expression

Eunice Rabert Hernández
4 min readApr 13, 2024
©Me

I can safely say that this is my favorite Cuban word, and I say Cuban because I don’t usually hear any other nationality say it so much. But it’s the most universal piece of linguistic culture that I love to use the most. So, I welcome you aboard the emotional rollercoaster that is the Cuban daily use of this word, “coño.”

Pronounced /ˈko.ɲo/, this word is as versatile as they come.

Even Ryan Gosling understands the magic of this word 🤩 When I heard him saying this, I was like, “Okay, we win.

There are many ways that you can use it, and it always depends on the context.

The Surprise Factor

Picture a Cuban simply walking through any Cuban street. For fun and games, let’s just say Havana, since a lot of people know about the province. You happen to spot an old Chevy gleaming like a star against the dusk, working out of pure Cuban ingenuity, and the phrase “¡Coño!” (remember, that’s /ˈko.ɲo/) escapes your lips. In this case, you are using it as a perfect capsule of awe and…

--

--

Eunice Rabert Hernández

Hola! I'm a Cuban writer crafting a novel or two. As a top writer in some things, I explore the wild world of Cuba, Pop Culture, TV, Film, and Life. Join!