Eureka Mohan
3 min readMay 16, 2019

Two roads diverged!

After cracking that tough, demanding interview she hugged us and told, 'you guys are my lucky charm.'

That was a hazy day. Weather was cold and it was drizzling every now and then. We started off early. Boarded our bus. Knew that would be a long, tiring travel so we just grabbed some biscuits and Snickers to munch on the way.

We reached our destination. I wished her good luck and sent her for the interview venue. I was waiting outside fingers crossed.

I brought a book with me like I usually do. The weather was distractingly wonderful and cozy so I closed the book and kept gazing at the sky longingly.

The venue given was a college campus so there were hostel students who were test driving their prototype vehicle.

It was pretty amusing to watch them drive one after the other. They were cheering and seemed quite happy that the test drive went successful.

Around noon I got a call. It was Mr. P (brother). Told me that he would accompany us and would be starting shortly. Oh that sounded like a plan. I was little relieved that I would have someone to chat to kill time.

Until then I was reading my book, in between I napped. Well, who wouldn’t doze off in such a wonderful weather?!

Mr. P showed up with his wide, warm smile as always. We went inside and checked her out if everything was going fine. She cleared first two rounds and was waiting to be called for third round. We were delighted.

We both came back, went to the canteen had lunch. Shortly there was a twist in the weather, sun was out so we took a stroll around the college premises. We were chatting about our routines, job and certain trivial things.

She wasn't called up until evening for the final round. As it was cold outside I and Mr. P moved into the venue building so we could keep us warm.

Though I wrapped myself with my shawl I couldn’t stop praising the weather enough. It was December. That was doubtlessly splendid weather.

Around twilight she was shortlisted and was announced that she got placed. She had to relocate to a bigger metropolitan and it was one of the top notch MNC, so it is all worth it.

Except that she didn’t receive her placement order otherwise everything was settled and agreed.

After cracking that tough, demanding interview she hugged us and told, 'you guys are my lucky charm.'

We were so elated and excited. As someone who stands apart with aloof dignity, that was a crucial point in her life and career. Moving in to a big city is not a cake walk definitely.

Any way she was happy, confused, frightened, above all brimming with humility.

That was long, exhaustive yet a lovely day.

Fast forward four months, today we don't even know what are we up to, what is happening in each other's life. I and her are almost strangers.

Sometimes life has its own bizarre way of showing us what and what not will work. Either you accept life and move on or you sit there and grieve over.

But we should never forget that its such unlikely situations that helps us grow inside out and paves a way for self search. After all change is inevitable! ☺