Strength through adversity

Eva Maina
3 min readAug 20, 2018

--

There is nothing as amazing as learning something new each and every day, especially if it aligns with the things you love most in life. Putting ourselves in alignment with the things we want to achieve in life maximizes our chances and ability to attract whatever it is that we want to achieve. What this means is that all our energy, thoughts and beliefs are in alignment with each other and are totally focused on achieving that one thing that we have set our mind to achieve.

Many are the times we feel that the challenges ahead of us are too difficult to handle but I believe that a person with a growth mindset and positive energy sees every challenge as an opportunity to explore and learn new things. Its often said that whatever the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve. There is no limit to what a human mind can achieve. Doing more things on daily basis not only expands our mind but it also makes us realize how things we thought were tough can be achieved with ease.

A few months ago I made a decision to advance my skills in programming and always learn something new about programming each and every day. I was presented with an opportunity to apply for a google scholarship whereby I was to choose the course I wanted to study. There were a variety of courses to choose from but I decided to choose something new. Something that I had never done before. I settled my mind on Android development using Java programming language.

It was not a walk in the park as things were not as easy as I expected them to be. Installing the android studio itself and have it work in my machine was not as easy as it could crash my laptop every time I run the android emulator. I do believe that it was made for powerful computers and not just any laptop. When it came to running a project that I have already written it could take even 30 minutes to load. It was not even a guarantee that the project will load. It was either it loads or the computer crashes. I ended up spending too much time in the process but giving up was not an option.

The only solution I had was to uninstall most of the things I had on my computer and this improved the situation though not that much. Using java was not that easy as it was new to me and I had to do a lot of research, finish all the projects as well as meet deadlines. I am the type of a person who never gives up that easily and the very believe that everything is possible for those who attempt keeps me going during the hard times.

I was able to learn as much as I could and finish all the projects within the given time. It was not that easy but it was worth it as I learned a lot of new things in the process. One thing that I came to learn within that time is that the moment you set your mind to do something even if you don't know how to do it, you will always get a solution. It was through passion, determination, and willingness to learn new things that I managed to finish. The feeling that I usually I get when I achieve something new is overwhelming and it keeps me motivated.

--

--