How Solo Coffee Dates Have Helped Me Overcome Anxiety and Depression.

Boost4Fit
3 min readMar 15, 2023

--

Photo by Ron Lach from Pixels

Solo coffee dates have become a thing in my generation, especially those based on dating yourself (typically a self-love kind of thing). However, my solo coffee dates are tailored differently .

There are times when I feel overwhelmed by work demands or the difficulties that life presents. I stay home for days working to beat the deadline or ruminating (let’s call it overthinking). I reached a point where I’m completely drained, stressed out, and struggling to complete the task at hand. My mind is sprawling, and I’m stressed and anxious.

In moments like these, I usually take a break for 30 minutes to 2 hours. Since my house is not an ideal space, I go to one of my favorite spots. As I enjoy my drink, my mind is distracted by the beauty of mother nature and the serenity of my view. These sessions offer a chance to detox my mind from every negative energy and bring a sense of calmness and relaxation.

I have struggled with emotional and physical overwhelm for the past two years (let’s not forget self-doubt). I get nervous breakdowns whenever I am swamped with day-to-day activities. It gets ugly sometimes that I sob for hours to release the feeling. I will say this for free: as a 23-year-old adulting is rough. I have to juggle two jobs, keep up with the bills, and meet society’s expectations of what, who, and where I should be.

When life gets too much, I hit the wall and find myself unable to focus because my emotions are all over the place. And for a few days, I fall into this pit of despair, where I am in a foul mood, withdrawn, and easily irritated by anything and everything. It’s not a safe place for me or the people I care about. Additionally, I have to put in extra effort to recover from this setback. Solo dates have helped me get a grip on my overwhelming situations.

I realized that whenever I am feeling physically or emotionally overwhelmed, I build up irritation and anger, which leads to a meltdown of emotions. The build-up would interfere with my mental health and productivity for hours and days.

Solo coffee dates have anchored my wellness. They are like mini vacations. I take my solo dates when I feel unproductive, overwhelmed, anxious, or worried. I love them spontaneous; it makes it less likely to get bogged down in planning and worrying about what could go wrong.

My ideal space for solo coffee dates is gardens or parks, and as I sip my coffee, my mind decompresses from all that is destructive and distracting. I relax and soak in mother nature, reflecting on my work, fears, new interests, goals, and appreciating myself for the journey I have taken thus far. It is the moment of serenity that I build an “I can do this” and “You have got this” attitude.

And don’t get me wrong, I do have a great friend that I can lean on when stressed. Karaoke Fridays, movie nights, and shopping have never been more enjoyable than with my friends. But there is something about a solo coffee date that gives an unexplainable peace of mind. I can liken it to a meditation session, but in my desired setting.

If you have yet to try solo coffee dates, you are missing a chance to improve your wellness and connect with yourself on an intimate level.

--

--

Boost4Fit

Just a young blood who enjoys writing her thoughts while navigating life. Life is beautiful enjoy the sunshine and the rain it counts at the end.