British imperialism and its negative impacts on my life.

Eva Yamma
2 min readJul 13, 2024

British imperialism, also known as the British Empire, was a period of time when Britain expanded its influence and control over various countries and territories around the world. While some may argue that British imperialism had positive impacts such as the spread of Western education and technology, the reality is that it also had several negative impacts on the lives of countless individuals, including my own.

One major negative impact of British imperialism on my life is the loss of cultural identity. As a descendant of a colonized nation, the British Empire imposed its own cultural norms and values on my ancestors, leading to the erasure of many traditional customs and practices. This loss of cultural identity has had a lasting impact on my sense of self and connection to my heritage.

Furthermore, British imperialism also had economic consequences for my family and community. The British Empire exploited the resources of colonized nations for their own benefit, leading to economic disparity and poverty in many regions. As a result, my family and community have struggled to overcome the economic challenges imposed by British imperialism, hindering our ability to thrive and prosper.

In addition, British imperialism has had lasting political implications that continue to affect my life. The…

--

--