Creating a Cinematic Scene in Timeline

Eric Veciana
2 min readJul 5, 2023

--

Objective: Create a cinematic and playable scene

Most of everything I will be doing in this article has been demonstrated in my previous articles. In this article, I am simply going to have a timeline animation play while I have a player roaming around the scene and I will skip over the beginning steps. Then, I will have the timeline animator activate when the player steps on the trigger.

First, create your Timeline Director. Then, I will add the ship and the landing gear into the timeline editor as animation tracks.

And that first part basically loads the landing gear into the ship.

Then, once I’ve completed my animation, I am going to make sure I set the Director to not play on awake so I can have the scripted trigger play the animation.

Finally, let’s add a cube into the scene and attach a new script to it.

First, we need to add the Playables namespace. Then, I will simply add an OnTriggerEnter and press play when activated!

I’ve serialized the Director and dragged the director component into it.

That’s it!

--

--

Eric Veciana

As a Unity and C# developer with a background in nursing, I'm a creative problem-solver with a passion for creating games and other interactive experiences.