Timeline Animation — Winning The Race

Eric Veciana
3 min readJul 4, 2023

--

Objective: Use timeline to create a cut scene where the player wins a race

For this animation scene, I am going to have my player running a race. He will be running, then once he hits a certain point, he will have reached the “finish line” where a particle burst will occur. Then, he will lift his hands up and celebrate, then he will limp his way across.

First, let’s create our Timeline and Director game objects and create a new playable director for our Director. Next, I made all of my rigs into Humanoid. Then, I duplicated the Mixamo animations and renamed them to the animation they are performing.

*For more on the above steps, read this article first.

Next, I dragged my Ybot into the timeline editor and created an Animation Track.

Now, we can drag our running animation (the duplicated one) into this Ybot animator. I’ve created a simple flag, with a simple particle system that I will activate using timeline once the player crosses the finish line. I added a burst emitter, some gravity, and some random speed variances.

Then, on my Ybot Animator, I am going to create an override track. This will be for my running/victory animation.

Now, I can drag my victory animation onto the override track.

Next, I will create my Avatar Mask for my running/victory pose and deselect the legs.

Now, we can drag our new Avatar Mask onto the field for “Avatar Mask” on the override track.

Then, you will see that he keeps running (since it’s on loop) and he will raise his hands in victory once he reaches the finish line.

Don’t forget we can ease in out our animations to make them smoother.

Now, I’ve added all of my animations into the editor and I had to adjust the transform of my victory animation so it stayed in it’s place. Don’t forget to match offset to previous position.

And that’s it! Some fine tuning needed, but we are beginning to comprehend how to create animations!

--

--

Eric Veciana

As a Unity and C# developer with a background in nursing, I'm a creative problem-solver with a passion for creating games and other interactive experiences.