Understanding Timeline Controls

Eric Veciana
3 min readJun 16, 2023

--

Objective: Familiarize ourselves with the timeline controls

There are a few timeline controls that I want to go over that I haven’t yet discussed.

First, I wanted to point out a helpful shortcut that allows us to scroll left and right through the timeline editor instead of scrolling with the scroll bar. To do this, hold Alt and left click on the editor to scroll.

If we wanted to frame all of our clips into one view, I can press the ‘A’ key and it will show all of my clips.

Then, I can also press the ‘F’ key to frame just one individual clip.

Also, if I wanted to view all of my timelines, I can click on the little down arrow.

I can right click on the scroll to insert frames into the editor.

And I can right click on the scroll to select certain clips. I can select every clip that is in front of the scroll or behind it. I can select the intersecting or blending clips as well.

If I wanted to reduce the space between two clips, I can grab the two clips, right click, and select Tile. This will bring them together.

We can select the curves button to show us the curve values of our animation keys.

And we can hit the ‘S’ key to split a clip. When split, I can even play around with the clips and reverse them.

--

--

Eric Veciana

As a Unity and C# developer with a background in nursing, I'm a creative problem-solver with a passion for creating games and other interactive experiences.