Part 1: Meet Ruchir, Our Super Cool Summer Intern From UT Austin

Everybody Helping
3 min readJul 6, 2016

--

In kindergarten I tried impressing a girl by emulating Superman and “flying” across the jungle gym. Long story short: I ended up with a broken arm and the girl wasn’t impressed.

Ruchir is a junior at The University of Texas at Austin. He’s cool. We like him.

Why did you want to intern at ehco?

One of the main reasons I wanted to work at ehco was the nature of the company itself. ehco works to modernize the giving process to bring fundraising for nonprofits to a newer generation. The potential behind this simple idea and what it could mean for nonprofits is what led me to apply to ehco.

A secondary factor that solidified my choice to work here was the prospect of working at a startup. I’ve really only had experience working at larger corporations where you work with a very specified role under constant supervision. ehco was refreshingly different. Being a startup, you get the rare opportunity to work closely with the actual founder of the company, someone whose vision is what led to the creation of the organization itself. Furthermore, you are given the chance to work on projects that lead to the direct success or failure of the company in the market. This level of responsibility was an opportunity I didn’t want to pass up.

What are you currently focused with your work?

I am currently focused on nonprofit and user acquisition. This essentially means I am working to ascertain what process works best to get nonprofits and users onboard with our platform by trying a variety of different approaches and gathering data from each.

It’s still early, but what’s your favorite part about ehco so far?

The people that I get to work alongside with. Each and every employee is incredibly intelligent and driven and grinds every day to make ehco the best giving experience available.

What do you do outside of ehco?

Outside of ehco you will probably find me playing sports, cheating on the NY Times crossword, or singing.

We haven’t heard Ruchir sing yet, but we certainly hope to soon. I mean, look at this kid.

What is your favorite thing about Austin?

The University of Texas. UT is what brought me to this crazy, weird city in the first place, and it has been an amazing experience so far.

Where do you want to be in 5 years?

I want to eventually start a business of my own, but that’s in the more distant future. In 5 years I want to be traveling, continuing to work with intelligent people, and — most importantly — problem solving.

Tell us a fun fact about yourself.

In kindergarten I tried impressing a girl by emulating Superman and “flying” across the jungle gym. Long story short: I ended up with a broken arm and the girl wasn’t impressed.

Download the ehco™ Giving app and give to one of these Austin nonprofits to truly follow Ruchir’s journey this Summer as our Intern. As he progresses, so will our product:

We’re ehco, the easiest way to give to your favorite Austin causes. We believe if we can give together, we can change the world. Join us.

--

--